Retaliation Is Not An Option!

Standard
We have been talking about joy these last few times. Being joyful is different from being happy. Being happy depends on our circumstances and those things that affect us.  When we are experiencing the kind of joy God gives us, others around us can feel that joy. Even when our days are not happy, we still have that joy and share that joy with others.
 
I recently experienced a lady that was not happy about her circumstances. Because she was not happy about her circumstances, she was going to make those around her miserable. She was unhappy and in her unhappiness, others were going to be unhappy with her. I was one of them she intended to make unhappy. A friend of mine and I were the victims of an outbreak of her rage. She lashed out at us in a very inappropriate manner; stealing my happiness. After she left our presence, we both felt very hurt and vulnerable. We were shocked at her response. I was a bit shaken because of some of her accusations about me. This lady is one person I had never met before or had any relationship with. She knew nothing about me and I knew nothing about her except she was an unhappy person.
 
For several minutes I pondered if what she had said was true. Was I really the type of person she was accusing me of being? I began to pray not only for myself but for this lady I had an encounter with.
 
As I prayed, God revealed to me I was not the kind of person she had insisted I was. I realized she was unhappy about a circumstance that had recently happened in her life. I began to feel sorry for this lady. She had to humble herself and come and ask for help, but her pride was not left at home. She brought her pride with her and when she did, her emotions got control of her and she could no longer handle the situation.
 
After God revealed all of this to me, did my happiness return? It did not. I was unhappy for her and felt compassion for her. I wanted her to come back so we could sit and discuss the situation. I wanted to be able to sit and talk and see what the best solution was for her and how we could help her. But storming out the door and promising never to come back, it was unlikely we would be able to resolve this.
 
As she was lashing out at me, I was trying to apologize for her feeling like we had disappointed her, hurt her and insulted her. She would not let me get a word in; so no apology was going to be heard let alone accepted.
 
It would have been so easy for me to let her have it. It would have been really easy to retaliate. Each day before I begin my day, I pray for God to control my mouth, my action, and my thoughts. I always pray for His Presence to be in me. God was with me and I believe he kept me from lashing out and making a bad situation worse.
 
After she left I regained my composure and prayed for her and the situation. Shortly after that, I was to go and teach a class at our church to some kids. It would have been so easy for me to lash out at these kids because of what I had just experienced, but because I was not going to let this woman steal my joy I let it flow from me; she could take my happiness, but she couldn’t steal my joy.
 
All of us at some time have been the victim. We have been unfairly accused of saying something or doing something that was construed by the other person as mean, evil or even racist. When that happens, we have choices. We can stoop to their level and retaliate or we can remember God is living within us and allow him to handle the situation by helping us keep our mouths shut and our thoughts pure.
 
I knew what this lady’s situation was and how upset she was, but there are times we may never know what the person who is attacking us has just gone through, is going through or facing. Years ago Carman sang a song. In it he sings this, “you can talk about me all that you please, you can talk about me all that you please. You can talk about me all that you please I’ll talk about you when I am on my knees…(from the song, “I’ve Been Redeemed/I Love Jesus” That my friend, is what we are called to do, be on our knees and pray for those who are going through rough times. We don’t ask God for revenge or we don’t ask him to retaliate. We ask him prayerfully to make his presence known to this person.
 
Life is tough for so many people right now. There are so many issues that people are being faced with. It is so easy to use any of these issues to justify how we think people are treating us. It is our responsibility to make sure we understand what is being said before we accuse people. It is our responsibility not to let our circumstances, our emotions, our pride, or any other factors get out of control. How do we do that? Every morning we ask God to take control of our lives, which includes our mind, our ears, and our mouths. We put on the armor of God and be ready with the tools he has given us to fight spiritual warfare. Ephesians 6:13-17, “Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. Stand firm therefore, having girded your loins with truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparations of the gospel of peace; in addition to all, taking up the shield of faith with which you will be able to extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”

I may not have directly prayed with her, but I have been praying for her. We turn from anger and respond in love when we are being attacked. We do not allow our emotions or the situation get out of control. We remain steadfast in God’s love. We pray and let God do the rest. “Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong.” (1 Corinthians 16:13)

If we remain on guard, if we stand firm in the faith and if we are strong, we will never have to worry about what comes out of our mouths. If we stay courageous, stand firm and be strong, we will be able to resist the temptation to retaliate and instead, we will reach out in love to those who are hurting.
 
How we respond to our circumstances is a choice we make every day. We can choose to arm ourselves with the armor of God, take God’s presence with us daily and choose to love or we can choose the way of the world, fight back and bring others down with us. It’s our choice. I choose to stand firm in my faith, I hope you join me.
 
Dear Lord,
I pray for this lady and others like her that are having difficult times. I pray for your presence to be felt in their lives and that not only would they once again experience happiness, but pure joy through your love. When we are being attacked I pray for peace, I pray for a hedge of protection around us and help us not to respond in a negative way, but in a way that shows God’s love for them. Help us be on guard, stand firm, be courageous and strong in you and you alone. Amen
 
 

Leave a comment