In The Shadow of God’s Goodness

Standard
We are talking about goodness this month. As I sit here and reflect on what goodness means to me I am drawn to God.
 
This morning I am thinking not about my own goodness, but the goodness of God. I realize I fail at being good all the time, but God never fails. He is good all the time; all the time God is good.
 
I have been thinking about a dear friend who has been taken off of life support. The outcome is not good for her. In his goodness God allowed me to see her one more time before I headed back from Indiana. I was visiting my daughter’s church and this beautiful soul was there. She gave me the biggest hug, a kiss on the cheek, and a wonderful big smile. She finished it off with, “I love you”. I got to tell her I loved her too! God knows what is ahead for all of us and he prepares the way. What a memory I will cherish in my heart.
 
I think about the many times my husband and I have gone through some difficult times, but in His goodness he provided the means to get us through. It might just have been his presence, or his power, but he provided.
 
Because I know and God knows I can’t be good all the time in His goodness he offers me the gift of grace. All he does is ask me to admit I messed up, brush my self off, accept his grace and move on. Because of his goodness he doesn’t beat me down, degrade me or severely punish me. Instead through the goodness of his heart he reaches down and loves me just as I am.
 
I just had a birthday recently. I couldn’t celebrate with my family. In his goodness God has provided family for me here in Texas. I went into my class on Sunday morning to find cupcakes, (chocolate of course) birthday napkins and plates. God knows what we need and he provides. He has provided family for me here in Texas to celebrate the good times with.
 
I think about the number of times I have been asked to speak to groups of women, or I have been asked to take on a particular job or do something that was way beyond me, but in God’s goodness he provides me with strength and power to do what needs to be done.
 
We have been pretty dry here in Texas for a few weeks, in his goodness God let it rain this morning. Those raindrops were blessings to our dry parched land.
 
I could go on about the goodness of God and my lack of being good all the time. God’s goodness out measures any hope of me being as good as he is, but I don’t fret. God knows my shortcomings and loves  me still the same.
 
Psalm 100:5 
English Standard Version (ESV)

For the Lord is good;
    his steadfast love endures forever,
    and his faithfulness to all generations.
 
 
So, when I look at God’s goodness it can be a might intimidating. We have Micah 6:8 that helps us with that.
 
He has told you, O man, what is good;
    and what does the Lord require of you
but to do justice, and to love kindness,[b]
    and to walk humbly with your God?
 
It’s pretty simple, we are to love God with our whole heart, love one another, treat others fairly, be kind and to walk humbly. It’s not rocket science, it’s simply day to day living and loving others. I don’t have to fret if I don’t get it right everyday, because in his goodness he knows I can’t and he loves me anyway. I just have to work on getting it right so that someday I might just be good enough to see him.
 
God’s goodness, I believe, comes from his heart and his love for us. If we can love others with our whole heart then I think we can get the goodness down.
 
In what ways has God shown his goodness to you lately? How have you responded?
 
Dear God: I thank you for your goodness in my life. You teach me in so many ways what it means to be good. You allow me to see the goodness in you everyday. Sometimes I am aware of it and sometimes I miss it. You have taught me what I need to do to be good. Help me as I study your word on what it means to be good and help me as I try to apply that to my life. Thank you that in your goodness you have given me grace as I mess up, thank you for the power and strength to accomplish those things you have set before me. May I live in the shadow of your goodness now and forever. Amen
Leave a Reply

