Walking in the Light Stumbling in the Darkness

Standard
For years my husband and I slept in complete darkness; no night light nothing. In fact, my husband insisted we have complete darkness. For years I was okay with this. I could even manage to find my way to the bathroom in the complete darkness. It seemed I was familiar with my surroundings and could fine my way around in the darkness. I felt pretty comfortable in the it. I did not need light.
 
However a few months back for some reason I began to get lost in the darkness. I would run into the bathroom door or I would hit the shower door or a number of other things. I would even run into the door jam. I never hurt myself, but I was lost in the darkness. I just couldn’t find my way around any more. I suddenly realized I needed a nightlight so I could find my way. With my husband needing complete darkness it was a challenge for us. We’d buy a nightlight plug it in and go to bed. I soon discovered my husband would think it was too bright and turn it off. So we’d go shopping for another nightlight with the same thing happening. We found one he could live with. It was on my side of the room, but the light was too bright for me and I couldn’t sleep. After several weeks we found a nightlight that would work and the perfect place for us to put it. It gave off just enough light for me to find my way around, but not too bright to blind me or to keep us from falling to sleep. I could find my way around the darkness and not run into things because of this light.
 
As usual I was thinking about how this light had changed everything. I went from groping in the dark and getting lost to being able to see in the light and finding my way around. God reminded me that was a lot like my own life.
 
You see before my walk with Christ became real I found myself in complete darkness. I was completely comfortable with it. So comfortable in fact I could find my way around with out any problems.
 
When my walk with Christ became real and I saw “the light” (sorry for the pun) I no longer enjoyed the darkness. It became uncomfortable for me. I began to realize I needed the light to help me see the dangers that might come my way in the darkness.
 
I didn’t realize how much danger I was in when I was in the darkness. I could easily have fallen or ran into something or fallen over something and hurt myself. Once I realized the dangers I had a choice to make. I could continue groping in the darkness and hope nothing happened or I could add some light to my circumstance and make my life a little easier. Once again, I did not know the dangers of living in sin until I experienced God’s true light.
 
Same way with my spiritual life. Once I walked in the light, I had a decision to make. I could remain in the light or I could walk away from it and remain in a safe comfortable place with all the dangers lurking. I chose to walk in the light and take my chances with Christ. By walking in the light, I still don’t see all the dangers that surround me, but I no longer have to worry about those dangers because Christ is walking with me. I am learning it is much better to be in the light than in the darkness.
 
When I was a child I was afraid of the dark like so many children are. I am not sure when the fear of the darkness left me, but I am no longer afraid of the dark; I just don’t like walking in it. Psalm 27:1 tells us, “The Lord is my light and my salvation – whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid of?”  Because I walk in the light of the Lord, I know I am saved from all the dangers of this world. I don’t need to fear because I walk in the light. If I live as though Christ is my stronghold then who should I fear or what should I fear?
 
There are times we forget to turn on the nightlight and I stumble in the darkness once again, but I soon remember how much better it is when I have the nightlight guiding my way.
 
There are times in my life that darkness creeps in and I have trouble finding my way out of the darkness, but then Christ comes along and offers me His light and I find my way safely back to Him and all is good again.
 
Which do you prefer? Do you enjoy walking in the darkness or are you one who likes walking in the light? I hope you have experienced the light and find it more comforting than walking alone in the darkness. May God shed his light on you and may you find your peace in his light.
 
Dear God: I am so thankful that I have found the light and I am no longer comfortable in the darkness. I may not be able to see all the dangers even in the light, but I no longer fear them because you walk with me and you are my stronghold. May I never lose your light in my life. I never want to walk and be comfortable in the darkness again. Thank you for bringing me out of the darkness and into the light. Amen
Leave a Reply

