Overindulgece That Was Me

Standard

I have this big event coming up at the end of this month and I have been trying really hard to watch what I eat so I can look good for this event. It’s not working so well for me. The problem for me is to many meeting dates that begin with refreshments or end in lunch dates.

Yesterday I blew it. I over indulged. I had a meeting of course and ended up going to lunch with friends. We went to Pei Wei’s for lunch. This has become one of my favorite monthly meetings The food is delicious. I got a bowl of noodles with chicken chow mein. They give you an enormous amount. Needless to say, I couldn’t eat it all and brought home a doggie bag.

After leaving there one of my dear friends popped into Steel City Pops for dessert. I have never been to this place so I was a little excited. She informed us she was treating us to Popsicles. I haven’t had a popsicles since the last time I had surgery and had to eat them. I went inside and was a bit overwhelmed. These are not your typical popsicles. These are gourmet popsicles. I ordered something that consisted of chocolate, coconut and toasted coconut. It had to weigh 3 lb. It was delicious. I managed to eat that as well. I am not sure where all the food went, but I managed to get it down.

When I walked away I was stuffed. I really didn’t want to think about fixing dinner for my hubby. I had planned a dinner for him that I was actually going to cook. After telling him of my dilemma we decided we would fix that the following day. We worked in the yard as we planned and made a couple of trips to Lowe’s. Lowe’s is like the grocery store for us. We can’t seem to get everything we need in one trip and since it is so close its troubling sometimes.

Later on in the evening my husband got hungry. Can’t imagine that can you? I still wasn’t hungry, but decided I’d best eat something. we settled on fast food to get us through since we still had a lot of work to do. So, I ate again.

Unfortunately, I didn’t go to bed hungry like so many children do. I believe I overindulged yesterday. Well, ok maybe not overindulged, but I did eat more than usual. Oh, should I mention we also had refreshments at this meeting which I partook in? How can you turn down homemade Banana Nut Bread?

So, what lesson does this have for all of us? How can we apply God’s word to this? God showed me last night. I overindulged in food yesterday. I really enjoyed every bite of the food I ate. Before my husband got home I sat down in the chair which was a mistake. You see I had a full tummy and sleepiness soon followed. I couldn’t stay away. I knew I had things I needed to accomplish when I got home. I tried to accomplish some of those tasks, but I couldn’t stay focused. I had enjoyed too much of what the world had to offer me in way of food.

God shared with me the same things happens to us when we overindulge in what the world has to offer. When we are consumed with all those things the world has to offer we begin to takeout our focus off of Him and we get sleepy to his needs and wants. Wow! I hadn’t thought about that. God is such a good teacher.

1 Peter 2:10-11 Dear friends, I warn you as “temporary residents and foreigners” to keep away from worldly desires that wage war against your very souls.“Once you had no identity as a people; now you are God’s people. Once you received no mercy; now you have received God’s mercy.”

For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh and the lust of the eyes and the boastful pride of life, is not from the Father, but is from the world. 1 John 2:16.

I don’t believe God is telling us here we can’t enjoy ourselves once in awhile. I think what he is saying is beware of the dangers of doing it frequently. When we do something over and over and our eyes are not able to focus any longer on God then we get sleepy to God’s desires. When our eyes, our heart and mind focuses on our desires we have lost sight of God. When all we can think about is that one thing we desire most in this life we forget the desires God has placed in our hearts and minds.

The term glutton came to my mind last night. Glutton means a person who is excessively fond of or always eager for something.

Proverbs 23:20-21: Do not be with heavy drinkers of wine, Or with gluttonous eaters of meat; For the heavy drinker and the glutton will come to poverty, And drowsiness will clothe one with rags. This passage warns us of the drowsiness that can occur when we are gluttonous.

Let me say again, it’s okay to do this once in awhile. It’s when we do it constantly that it becomes a problem. I got a good nights rest and I will be eating a little lighter today. I will stay focused not on my worldly desires, but the desires God has placed before me.

So, in order to stay focused and not become sleepy we must be aware of the desires this world throws at us. We must put aside those things that we eagerly desire; those things that turn our eyes away from God. When we begin to focus more on our desires and less on God then it becomes a problem. It wasn’t a problem for me other than I did not get done what God intended me to get done. But it was a reminder and a lesson that I need to be aware of. One more step in learning to follow Him and trusting him.

Dear God: Each time you teach me I am amazed. It’s not always a “don’t do this lesson” as much as it is “just be aware” lesson. When I pay attention to your “just be aware” lessons that keeps it from getting to be a “don’t do this lesson.” Help me to stay alert to your desires and not the world’s desire. Help me to stay focused on you. Thank you for all you teach me. Amen

Leave a Reply

