Come Lord, Fill the Quenching of My Soul

Standard

I am a tea drinker. I have never acquired the taste of coffee. My parents had four children. They were coffee drinkers, but raised no coffee drinkers. For several years I drank Lipton tea. I was not into the flavors. My theory was if I wanted fruit with my tea I’d drink juice. All I wanted was the pure black tea flavor and I’d be satisfied.

One year I went on a silent retreat with some friends. We were to take our own breakfast items the two days we would be there. Lunch and dinner would be furnished. I don’t remember what I took to eat for breakfast. What I do remember is I forgot to pack my tea…my Lipton black tea. How could I start my day without my tea?

My friend’s daughter came with tea! I was relieved, but that relief only lasted a few minutes. She brought flavored tea. She had no Lipton black tea. Ugh! She brought Vanilla Chamomile. Really? Who drinks Vanilla Chamomile for breakfast? I did that weekend. Guess what? I loved it. It was some really good tea.

I went home and called my daughter to tell her I was now drinking a flavored tea. Now this is the daughter that had been persuading me for years to try flavored tea, but I refused. She was delighted. That was the beginning of my new adventures into flavored teas! You should see my cabinet in the kitchen. It is filled with flavored teas of all sorts and colors.

Just recently I was sitting down at the table getting ready to do my morning devotions. I had fixed one of my favorite new teas. As I took that first sip it was delicious. I had brewed it to the right strength. It was warm and felt really good going down my throat. I was really getting into this cup of tea. I thought about how it satisfied my body, my soul and how wonderful it made me feel. Could anything be better than this cup of tea right now? I was really enjoying it.

As I began to do my devotions after having drunk all my tea I began to realize something. This cup of tea was satisfying my soul, but soon the satisfaction would all be gone and I’d be back thirsting for another cup of tea. The next cup of tea might not be as good. I might let it brew too long, the water could be too hot, or I might forget to sweeten it. It might never taste as good as the first one. But, no matter how many cups of tea I have it will never fully satisfy my soul. I will long for one more cup. I will try to make it better, or make it like the first one or whatever. Drinking cups of tea will just leave me with the desire of having another cup and another cup.

God reminded me this is exactly what he was telling the woman at the well. John 4:13, “Jesus answered, ‘Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks from the water I will give will never be thirsty again. The water that I give will become in those who drink it a spring of water that bubbles up into eternal life.”

It was a pretty simple concept, but one that I needed to be remind of. Drinking what the world has offered me will just make me thirsty again. It’s only when I go to Christ and allow him to fill me with his living water will my thirst be quenched.

As I was studying this I found out many believe that the living water Christ was talking about was the Holy Spirit. Others believe it was Christ himself. I think it might be a combination of things; at least for me. It’s God’s words filling me and quenching my thirst. The more I fill myself daily with God’s words the more my cup will be to overflowing.

It may be Christ himself. If I come to him and he lives within me then the things I desire will change. Instead of desiring things that aren’t necessarily good for me I fill myself up with His Presence in me. If I am filled with his presence then I have no room for those earthly desires.

It could be the Holy Spirit. If I am filled with the Holy Spirt then my soul is quenched and I live with the quenching of the Spirit. The Holy Spirit satisfies my soul and I no longer search for something to fill my soul. The Holy Spirit has already done that.

A cup of tea is a cup of tea, but the living water is a way of life. It is the way to eternal life. It is the only thing that will truly satisfy my soul and fill my thirst.

Yes, tomorrow morning I will begin my day with a cup of tea. I will enjoy my cup of tea, but I will remember it’s just a cup of tea and if I truly want to be satisfied, If I truly want to quench my soul then it’s to Christ I will go to. John 4:15 says this, “The woman said to him, ‘Sir, give me this water, so that I will never be thirsty and will never need to come here to draw water.” Our bodies may thirst again, but our souls will only be satisfied when we drink from the living water.

Are you like me? Do you need to be reminded it is the living water we seek? I need to seek this living water when my soul thirsts. I must be like this Samaritan woman and ask Christ to give me some of this water. My thirst will be quenched and my soul satisfied as I spend time in his word, in relationship with him and in allowing the Holy Spirit to live and move through me.

Come Lord, fill this thirsting of my soul.

Dear God: Thank you for allowing me to enjoy a good cup of tea. Remind me though it’s not in the cup of tea or in the things the world offers me that will satisfy my soul. It is being in relationship with you, it’s reading your word and it’s allowing the Holy Spirit to fill me. Come Lord, fill the thirsting of my soul. Let me be satisfied with the things you give me each day. Amen

Leave a Reply

