My Destiny

Standard
Continuing with my Fruit of the Spirit study I have found out that God loved me so much He sent his only Son to die on the cross for me. I have looked at scriptures assuring me of God’s great love for me. Now it’s time to see Christ’s love put into action.
 
There are many stories throughout the New Testament that show Christ’s love for others. One of the examples of Christ’s love for someone comes from John 11. Lazarus has died. His sisters, Mary and Martha have sent someone to tell Jesus. What we know is Jesus did not initially come back when He was told. He had a purpose and a reason for doing so. Finally, he makes his appearance four days after Lazarus has died. Jesus spent time with Martha. After that he calls for Mary to come and talk with Him alone. When she sees him she falls and says, “Lord if you had been here my brother would not have died.” (Verse 32) When Jesus saw this he was greatly disturbed and we find the shortest scripture in the Bible, “Jesus cried.” (Verse 35) Many believe he felt the pain Mary was experiencing and was deeply disturbed by this. For me I think it goes a step farther. We know that Lazarus was a friend; he was more than an acquaintance. I think he loved Lazarus as much as his family did and because he felt love toward this man his feelings over took him. He showed us how special love can be between two people. I often have wondered how difficult it was for Christ walking this earth. He knew what He was called to do and that was to go to the cross and take all the sins of the world with him.
 
I am thinking if I was called to do what Jesus was called to do I would not waste my time on relationships with others. As a human being it is hard to love someone so deeply just to have them taken from you in death. I have lost so many family and friends that I often wonder if it wouldn’t be easier to go through this world isolated. You’d never know the pain of losing family or friends if you were isolated. Christ shows us a different way. He shows us He knows the pain and the all the emotions we go through when we lose someone. He understands how hard it is to lose a love one. He has lost one he loved, but he also lets us know how important it is for us to share God’s love with those we love. If we share God’s love with those we love we can be assured we will see them and be with them again one day. He shows me in this story that it is okay to love others. We will know the pain of losing people we love, but we can be assured we will never walk through that pain alone. Because Christ experienced the loss of someone He loved He will never allow us to walk through that difficult time alone.
 
Just like Christ we are walking through this world. Christ shared the same experiences we share in. One of the experiences he shared in was loving others so deeply he had compassion and love for God’s people. That is what He’s called us to do; love others so deeply we have compassion for one another.
 
Ecclesiastes chapter 4:9-12 tells me this, “Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble. Likewise, two people lying close together can keep each other warm. But how can one be warm alone? A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.” So yes, at times when I am going through the death of a loved one I might think it’s better to be isolated, but then Christ shows me it is better to love and lose than not be loved at all.
 
I can take comfort in loving others knowing Christ experienced all the same things I have experienced in relationships.
Even though Christ knew his destiny in life he still reached out and loved others. My destiny doesn’t compare to His at all, but I know I am to reach out and love those He brings in my path.

Dear God: thank you for showing us through your son that we are to reach out to those we come in contact with and love them, just as Christ loved others as He walked this earth. Thank you for the assurance that no matter what we go through in a relationship with others Christ experienced it too. Thank you for the assurance we have through the Lazarus story that we will never have to walk through the death of a loved one alone. Christ knows and has experienced the same loss and grief and he will never let us go through that alone. Christ’s destiny was taking the sins of the world to the cross, maybe my destiny is to share Christ with those whom I love so that we can live together forever in the life to come. Amen
 

 
God bless each of you!
Leave a Reply

