Lord Help Me Get the Love Right Part 2

Standard
A few weeks ago I blogged about getting the love right; I said if you could get the love right everything else would fall into place. This is a perfect example of getting the love right. 
A woman posted on one of the pages I follow on Facebook this encounter with a gentleman. It happened after picking her son up at work. As most teenagers she asked if he was hungry and he replied he was. She went into Arby’s and was buying him something to eat when she felt the urge to buy extra. She followed her prompting (I am convinced it was the Holy Spirit). She caught a glimpse of this man carrying a backpack looking down the whole time. He walked past them and went into the gas station next door. She pulled in to the gas station and motioned for him to come over. She asked him if he needed a ride in which he replied he did. So she told him to hop in. Smelling the sandwiches and knowing she bought extra she offered him something to eat. She dropped him off at a shed behind a restaurant. He was staying with a friend and two dogs in this shed. He asked her if she had any work for him to do. They were both without jobs and needing a hand up finding a job. She noticed they had ice chests to keep things cold and was cooking on burners hooked up to a car battery. They did have a grill with no wood or charcoal. They were taking showers with a water hose. One man had a sore on his face. When she asked he said it was cancer. 
She could have left these men and think nothing more about them. She didn’t stop there. On this Facebook page she posted the story only in more detail and then went on to ask for some help for these gentlemen. Offers of jobs, water, hygiene products, clothing, blankets and winter items are just some of the donations this woman has collected for these men. She is selling some of her own things so she can purchase items for them. The out pouring of love and generosity is amazing. One of the replies was from someone who is a manager at Arby’s and she posted this sweet man comes around often and he is very sweet and polite. 
The woman who went the extra mile said in her post, “I love when I get an urge to buy more food because I always come across someone who needs it. My children always say, ‘how do you always seem to know?’ I just tell them that’s God’s way is never wrong.”  It is my guess that she does this often for many people. 
What a story! I am thinking she has the love right. How many of us would have thought about doing this and then stopped and thought about our own safety? Or thought about the money we work so hard for? How many of us would have given it a thought and then turned away and dismissed the thought?
I am not proposing we all go out and do this. I am sharing an example of how once we get the love right the Holy Spirit will work through us to help others. We can’t think about the outcome. I am not sure the outcome will change these men. I am not sure these men will change their lifestyles, get jobs and become successful. That is not our call. Our call is to get the love right, follow Christ’s example of helping others and to offer love and prayers to those in need. Matthew 25:34-40 reminds us this “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’ “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’ “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’”
The other thing that really touched me is the lesson she is teaching her children. She is teaching them about love. She is teaching them about listening to the Holy Spirit and God and doing what she is able to do. She is teaching love, not fear. They are learning to get the love right. 
“The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself. ’There is no commandment greater than these.” Mark 21:31
“Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.” Romans 13:10
When we get the love right everything else will fall into place. I think she got the love right. Do we have the love right? I know I still have a lot of work to do yet. 
Dear Lord: I ask that you bless this woman, her children and these men. They just may be angels sent from you to see how we are doing on getting the love right. Help us to get the love right and then let the Holy Spirit work in our lives. Give us the urgings just as you did this woman to help those who are in need. Help us to respond to your nudging knowing you never get it wrong. Thank you for teaching me it’s all about the love. Amen
Leave a Reply

