People Need The Lord

Standard
When I don’t have time to do Bible Study in the morning I listen to praise and worship music while I am getting ready to head out. On one of my apps I have downloaded songs and music that mean a lot to me. There are several songs on there that have changed my life just through the words. 
One morning I was listening to this app and I heard a song that I hadn’t heard in a long time. I have heard several people sing it, but this particular morning Steve Green sang it. The name of the song is, “People Need the Lord.”
Every day they pass me by, I can see it in their eyes.
 Empty people filled with care, Headed who knows where?
 On they go through private pain, living fear to fear. Laughter hides 
their silent cries, Only Jesus hears.
People need the Lord, people need the Lord.
 At the end of broken dreams, He’s the open door.
 People need the Lord, people need the Lord.
 When will we realize, people need the Lord?
I found out it was released in 1984. That was 32 years ago. But, as I read the first verse I find it is just as appropriate for today. There are so many people today who are in need of the Lord. There are so many people searching for things that will make them happy. 
We are getting ready to have elections in this country. The world is very divisive right now. We are hearing some very disturbing news these days. I think there are some who are looking at our Politicians and those wanting to be President and thinking they are going to save us. I think there are those that think if this person gets elected or if that person gets elected life will be much better. 
We have people who are convinced that if they can win the lottery or the Publishers Clearing House sweepstakes life will be grand and there will be no more troubles. So they take their money and play the lottery. I am not here to condemn playing the lottery all I am saying here is people are searching for something to satisfy their needs.
The bottom line is people are searching for God. People need God in their lives. A certain candidate is not going to save them; money is not going to save them. What is going to save them and bring them happiness is God. 
When dreams are broken, when life is not like it should be, or like we thought it would be, or not like we pictured God is standing at the door of our lives knocking wanting to come in. He wants to give us hope, he’s there to give us peace and he’s there to love us when no one else will. There are neighbors all around us that need the Lord. Some know what they need and turn their backs while others have no clue they need God in their lives. 
We are called to take His light
 To a world where wrong seems right.
 What could be too great a cost
 For sharing Life with one who’s lost?
 Through His love our hearts can feel
 All the grief they bear.
 They must hear the Words of Life
 Only we can share.
The next verse says we are called to take his light to a world where wrong seems right.  Matthew 5:14 says this, “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.” 2 Corinthians 4:5-6 reminds us we are to, “Remember, our Message is not about ourselves; we’re proclaiming Jesus Christ, the Master. All we are is messengers, errand runners from Jesus for you. It started when God said, “Light up the darkness!” and our lives filled up with light as we saw and understood God in the face of Christ, all bright and beautiful.” We who know and love Christ are to be errand runners from Jesus. God told us to light up the darkness. We are to bring light to those who need God in their lives. People need God and we are the ones to take Him to them. 
As I listen to people share their stories with me I can feel their pain. I can feel their heartbreak and their despair. I know what it’s like to be hanging on by a thread afraid to let go and drop into God’s waiting hands. We must share with them God will not let them go. He will catch them in the palm of his hands.  
Yes people need the Lord, but it’s only when we go and share the good news with them, it’s only when we are willing to walk alongside them will they step out and take God’s hands. 
Are you willing to go into this dark world and be a light for someone who needs the Lord?
Dear God: You have shared with me the need to be your hands, feet, ears and mouth. Help me to shine in someone’s darkness and bring light to their world. People need the Lord; let me be the one to step out in faith and bring the good news to them. Help me not to abandon them, but to walk along side of them, to encourage them and to love them unconditionally. Teach me to be bold for you in this dark and sometimes scary world. Amen
Leave a Reply

