I Went With The Wrong Attitude

Standard
Once again I am reminded of who is in charge of my life. I am also reminded of how God can work through you even when you are not 100% on board or your attitude is not as it should be. Let me prove my case.
One of my many hats that I wear is a Client Advisor in our local food/clothing pantry. Now I have been named to chair a Ministry Council. The ministry council will be made up of representatives from the various local churches. The goal is for all of us to come together as parts of Christ and form the body of Christ so we can work together to serve our community better. I have been visiting churches for the last few weeks. The first week was great; the second week not so great. It’s not because they didn’t want to talk to me it was more like nobody was available to talk to me. I get that its summer and they are not as available in the summer. 
The first two times I went out it was a Wednesday. This last time I chose a different day to see if I had a different outcome. Tuesday morning, the day I chose rolled around. I was not in a, “let’s do this mood.” It was more like, “do I have to do this again? It will be a bust. It’s summer no one will be available, I will be wasting my time.” It would be easy to just make some excuse why I couldn’t do this even though I knew people were counting on me. In fact a friend called inquiring about something and I was ready to call it off and go with my friend to assist him in getting started on a new endeavor. The problem was he couldn’t do it that day. So I was stuck. I dragged my feet all morning. Making my devotions longer, taking a longer shower, doing anything I could to linger. Finally, I had to go. Dressed and sitting in the car with a not so good attitude I prayed God would go before me, work through me and my attitude and make it a worthwhile day. 
I go to the first church. It was one I had tried to visit before, but no one was home. I pulled into the parking lot and there were cars. I am thinking this looks promising. I get the items I am to deliver and work on my speech, say a quick prayer and I am off. I go into the office, but the secretary is gone. The Pastor’s door is open, I step inside and we begin to visit. It was a most awesome visit. We shared for a few minutes. By the time I left there I was feeling pretty good about the day, then I was quickly reminded that was only my first visit. Needless to say, God worked through me. He showed up at each church before I got there, prepared everything and the day went off better than my attitude had thought it would. God worked through me and my attitude. I visited five churches and was able to connect with three, but the three I connected with was awesome. One of the churches was collecting food items the following Sunday, another one wanted to collect school supplies for us and the third seem genuinely interested in joining us. By the end of my visits I was pumped and very thankful God had worked through my attitude and done some miraculous work. I am ready to head out soon and visit the two I missed again. 
God has a way of working through us and showing us who’s in charge even we don’t feel like it. Philippians 1:27 says this, “Meanwhile, live in such a way that you are a credit to the Message of Christ…” I was not living in a way that I was a credit to the message. If I had been I would have gone out with an attitude that it was going to be a great day and with a much better attitude. 
“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go” Joshua 1:9. I am told in this verse not to be dismayed. Dismayed in my Thesaurus means to be distressed, perturbed and discouraged and even fed up. That’s exactly how I was going out. 
God knew my heart. God knows all. I even told him how I was feeling, but that didn’t make a difference. What made the difference was me willing to take the step and move forward even if I didn’t feel like it or want to. 
Galatians 6:9-10 had to remind me, “So let’s not allow ourselves to get fatigued doing good. At the right time we will harvest a good crop if we don’t give up, or quit. Right now, therefore, every time we get the chance, let us work for the benefit of all, starting with the people closest to us in the community of faith.”  I wasn’t fatigued, but my time was spent in thinking this day would be a bust, but God encouraged me to keep trying, keep going. I did and the harvest that the food pantry/clothing store will reap outweighed my attitude. 
God can and will work through us if we just put our trust in Him even when our attitude is not as it should be. My attitude was not all it should have been, but I put my trust in God and moved forward. I am thinking Moses’ attitude wasn’t all it should have been either, but God called Him to move forward and whether he felt like it or not, whether he put 100% of himself into it didn’t matter. God worked through him.
There will be days we will just feel like not doing anything. There will be days God will call upon us to do something He needs done and there will be days we will respond with, “Really God, I have to do this? I don’t have a good attitude today.” It will be our choice to move trusting God to change our attitude and bless our efforts or we can choose to be couch potatoes and do nothing. Those days that a friend has called needing help, wanting to talk, or wanting me to do something are the days that I look back on and feel blessed and it encourages me to keep moving forward. 
God knew if I was to continue in my work and do what He had called me to do I would need something to motivate me and keep me going. He certainly did that. I have renewed energy, renewed excitement for the calling He has given me and I am pumped. But, I had to make the choice to move even though my attitude didn’t line up with God. 
There are times God will call us to do something we don’t want to do, but the ultimate choice is ours to make. Will we follow God and trust Him or will we allow our attitudes and our desires to guide our path?
I am so thankful I chose to step forward trusting God to not only change my attitude but to work through me so others could reap the harvest of my work. Step forward trusting God today; you just don’t know the blessings he has in store for you. 
Dear God, thank you for working through my attitude and blessing me with the blessings of new friends, new relationships and a harvest that those in need will reap. Thank you that I was willing to step out in faith even when I didn’t feel like it. Thank you for working through me. Let me not hold on to my blessings, but to share them with others. May others be blessed because of what you are doing in my life. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

