Taking The Time to Dance

Standard
I don’t know if it’s because I am older, or wiser or just stubborn but I am beginning to believe in God’s timing more and more. I may not like God’s timing, but like all good parents God knows best. I feel like I am the teenager who thought they knew what was best until they got to that magical age when they realized Mom or Dad did know a little something. I guess I hit that magical age. 
A friend of mine gave me a book at Christmas. I brought it home and had every intention reading it, but I never got around to it. This morning I was drawn to it like a magnet. I started reading it and couldn’t put it down. This one is called, “Divine Embrace” by Ken Gire. On the book cover he writes, “An invitation to the dance of intimacy with Christ. One exhilarating, ennobling, uncertain step at a time.” In it he refers to the song “Lord of the Dance.”
Last Fall I took on a Book Study written by Priscilla Shirer. It was on setting boundaries and taking time for yourself. All of the women got something out of it. I was a little hesitant. It was a great study and I suggest you find a group and work through this. I think for me the timing wasn’t right. 
Now several months later I pick up this new book and it’s all beginning to fit. I have been out in the desert for the last few weeks. Partially, because I have been really busy with a lot going on and secondly, I have visited Indiana. 
 I have been really missing my time with God. I came back from Indiana with a really bad head cold and haven’t felt well. I have been playing catch up with my work and have put spending time with God on the back burner. That is not a good thing. 
As I was thinking about all of this this morning I thought about my husband. After being gone for more than a week I hurry home and get busy unpacking, washing, and putting things away along with getting housework caught up. At some point I can bet my husband will say, “Why don’t you come and spend time with me on our porch?” Or “how about us doing this together or that together?” I often think I have too much work to do to just sit and be with him or go do something I don’t find necessary. Then I realized he just wants me to spend time with him. He has missed our time together. Our relationship will suffer if I don’t spend time with him. My house is dusty, but my relationship with my hubby is good. 
That’s when it hit me along with reading this book; God wants us to spend time with Him. He misses up when we skip time with Him just like my husband does.  How in the world can we have a relationship with God if we aren’t willing to spend time with Him? This book points out that God is leading us into a dance and we need to allow Him to lead us to where ever that may be. In my finite mind I always thought that meant in service or in doing work for Him or leading us to live where He wants us to live, but in the book it points out that God is leading us in a dance which leads us into a deeper relationship with Him. The dance is God leading us into a deeper love with Him. When I envision two people dancing all I can see is the love they have for one another; they are one in each other. They are oblivious to the world or anyone around them. They are focused on each other. 
That is what God wants from us. He wants us to be in that kind of relationship with Him. Now he doesn’t want us to be so focused on Him that we ignore those around us, but as we grow deeper into His love the more we are aware of those around us who are missing out on that kind of love. That’s when we can then begin to move into a dance that involves others, but Christ is still our focus. Our first priority is learning to let God lead us into a deeper relationship with Him. We need to learn to set things aside and just be with Him. He wants us to be oblivious to the world around us or those around us for just a short period of time. When I see work that needs to be done I jump up and get the work done instead of spending time with God. When someone wants something done or needs something I am the one that will take the task on forgetting how busy I already Him. 
When Christ was with the Disciples he taught them as He worked the crowds. He taught them about healing, feeding the crowds, and forgiving, but He also took them aside and was alone with them. They spent time alone sharing, laughing, praying, and being in relationship.  “Come with Me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.” Mark 6: 31 We need quiet time and rest in God. 
It’s amazing whenever we have quiet time today we get out our Kindles, phones or electronic games and spend time on them. We read our text messages, or our emails or we read the latest news reports. Wouldn’t it be great if one day we got a text message from God, “Hey, how you doing today? How about meeting me for  lunch?”  How much better for us if we took that same time and spent it in prayer or reading His words to us? Many of us look at the weather bug or the latest app we can get more often than our Bibles are looked at. 
In my finite mind I can’t get a grasp on how much God loves me, but He does. What he’s asking from me today is to stop and allow Him the privilege of leading the dance into a deeper intimacy with Him and leaving things undone for just a little while. 
I have a saying on my wall that says, “It’s not about waiting for the storm to pass. It’s about learning to dance in the rain.” For me today it’s not about waiting until all my work is done, it’s about taking time to dance with God and forgetting about what needs to be done. It’s about spending time alone with Him and learning what real love is. It’s about learning that God loves me; not about what I can do or how much I can do for Him. 
So if you come to my house and it needs mopped, swept, or dusted, if there are dishes in the sink don’t mind them, just smile and know I have been dancing with the one that truly loves me for who I am. 
I hope you learn to dance too. God is tapping you on the shoulder and asking you for this dance. It’s up to you. Will you worry about what needs to be done, will you worry about taking time from your husband, children or all the demands of life or will you take the time to dance?
Dear God: I want to dance with you. I want to take time to feel the love you have for me. I want that deeper more intimate relationship with you. Help me not to take on more, but to free myself to dance with you. Thank you for showing me once more it is about relationship and not obligations or tasks or anything else. Amen 
Leave a Reply

