My Safe During the Storm

Standard
I was driving back from a trip to Indiana. I had driven in beautiful sunshine the first day, but the second day I was in and out of rain after entering Texas. 
About an hour or so after entering Texas a major storm hit as I was driving. I could see bolts of lightning flash before me. I had my praise music on, but still heard thunder and it was raining so hard I couldn’t see. There was a car several feet ahead of me, but I could only see his tail lights once in a while. I couldn’t see an exit to get off. By the time I saw the exit it was too late. I thought I might pull off an exit and wait it out, but I couldn’t see to get off. I also knew it was unsafe to pull off on the shoulder and wait it out I could get hit if I did that. So, I did what I could do. I prayed asking God to be my eyes, my hands and feet as I drove. I asked God to please surround my car with His guardian angles and to keep me safe. It was a good ten minutes or so before it got any better. The neat thing was I didn’t panic or wasn’t too nervous. I believe God had not only done those things I asked, but He also kept me calm. 
As I thought about this later I realized in the storms of life we often can’t see where we are going. We are often blinded by the circumstances surrounding us. All we can see is the danger we are in or we are facing. I realize now I often don’t seek prayer when the storms of life come upon me as quickly as I should. I spend time fretting, getting upset because I can’t see what’s coming or where I am headed. This taught me a lesson. Instead of fretting because I can’t see what’s going on, or where I am headed, instead of worrying about the dangers of life I need to quickly pray that God would come and intervene and be my hands, feet, ears and ask Him to surround me with His guardian angels. Finally, after praying I know now the next step is just trusting God…complete unfailing trust in Him. I learned about complete trust and knowing the peace that follows. 
By the time I had arrived home I was tired. I enjoyed the evening with my husband; catching up on some news and just spending time with Him. He went off to bed and I listened to the news which I hadn’t done for about 10 days. 
Watching the weather report I heard the storms were headed our way. Now, normally I would sit up and wait out the storms. I have always been terrified that a tornado would hit while we were sleeping. That night was different. I was so tired I headed off to bed as the sirens went off warning us to go to our safe place. I laughed thinking I am headed to my safe place; my bed. It’s not exactly safe we have two windows on either side of the bed and on my side is a door with windows leading to the back porch. 
As I lay down I began to pray Lord, you know I am tired and YOU ARE my safe place. Whatever happens will happen I am okay with it. I drifted off to sleep without a care in the world. I was completely trusting God to take care of us. 
As I reflected on this apparently all night I realized how many times I have fretted during the storms of my life and not completely trusting God in the situation. I have waited up or waited through the storms of life worrying about all that could happen, or might happen when all I had to do was to put my complete trust in Him. Just like this night I trusted Him completely I realized when the storms of life come I need to fully trust Him….fully rely on God. 
 Psalm 46:1-3 says this, “God is our shelter and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. So we will not be afraid, even if the earth is shaken and mountains fall into the ocean depths; even if the seas roar and rage, and the hills are shaken by the violence.”
I know we are humans and it is so easy to worry. I know we think we should be doing something during our storms of life, but just like that night the best thing we can do when storms hit is to rest in the knowledge that God has our back. He is with us no matter what. 
Philippians 1:21 came to mind, “For to me, to live is Christ and to die is gain.”  So, if a tornado hits and I don’t make it out, then I have the pleasure of going to be with Christ. Yes, I will miss out on the things He has for me here, but I also gain by going to live with Him. That’s the same way with the storms of life. If I don’t make it through the storms of life then there is something much better waiting for me. If I make it through then I get the pleasure of continuing to serve Him in this life. Which is better? What do I want to do, well I’ll leave that up to God to make that decision and I will be perfectly happy with what He has chosen for me. 
Such simple concepts, but we as humans make it difficult. The storms hit the following morning and I heard in the background the thunder and saw bits of lightening and my alarm went off suggesting I go to a safe place, but instead I trusted God and slept through it all. I woke up refreshed, rested and ready to tackle the day. Now here is hoping I can do that the next time I have a storm in my own life. 
Dear God: Thank you for giving us peace when storms hit. Thank you for giving us a secure place to hide when we are experiencing storms. Let us not wait it out, but trust you. Amen
Leave a Reply

