What Is That On The Cross?

Standard

​I was watching the movie Passion of Christ last night with my husband. There are just some images I can’t get out of my mind. What Christ went through for such a sinner as I. All night long I had these images in my hand, at least until this morning.

God woke me up with another image that is very humbling and one I will remember for a long time. We all know Christ went to the cross to save us. He took our sins on the cross with him. Romans 4:25, “He was handed over to die because of our sins, and he was raised to life to make us right with God.” The reason Jesus had to die for our sins was so that we could be forgiven and go be with the Lord.

The image that stuck out was the one of Christ hanging on the cross close to death with the crown on his head and his blood running down his face. We all know that image well. As I remembered that image God added something to it.
Looking toward the image God put on my mind this morning I saw a piece of paper hanging on the cross. Now I know they placed a sign above Christ’s head. “A sign was fastened above Jesus’ head, announcing the charge against him. It read: “This is Jesus, the King of the Jews.” Matthew 27:37 so I thought that is what I was seeing. But, it wasn’t. God showed me what I was looking at. It wasn’t a clear picture but God made His point clear.

The sign I saw was a list. It was a list of all those things I have committed or will commit in my lifetime. I couldn’t tell how long it was. It was curled up on the end. I couldn’t read what it said because it had blood drops on it. It was beginning to fade. This was a perfect image of Christ taking my sins to the cross with Him; those I have committed and those I will commit. I saw myself falling down at the foot of the cross and being humbled beyond belief. I couldn’t believe all that He did for me; all the suffering, all the humiliation, all those things that lead up to his death on the cross. He did it for me.
I am sure if I had uncurled the paper it would be really long and I might even be surprised at some of the things written on it. But, Christ looked down on me with those compassionate eyes and I knew it was okay.

I’m not on an ego trip
I’m nothing on my own
I’ve made mistakes and often slip
I’m just common flesh and bones

But I’ll prove someday just what I say
I’m of a special kind
For while He was on the cross
I was on His mind

The look of love was on His face
The thorns on His head
The blood was on that scarlet robe
And it was stained in crimson red

Though His eyes were on the crowd that day
He looked ahead in time
For while He was on the cross, listen
You were on His mind

He knew me, yet He loved me
He whose glory makes the Heaven shine
I’m so unworthy of such mercy
For while He was on the cross
I was on His mind

Yes, while He was on the cross
You were on His mind

He knew me, yet He loved me
He whose glory makes the Heaven shine
I’m so unworthy of such mercy
For while He was on the cross
I was on His mind

Yes, while He was on the cross
I was on His mind

I couldn’t find who wrote this song, but several artists have recorded it. It’s one of my favorites at Easter.

This new image is one that I will always remember. Christ, the loving compassionate Savior took my sins to the cross and nailed them with Him.

Christ died on the cross for you and for me. Each of us has lists that Christ has nailed to the cross. Those lists have blood droppings on them and sweat from his brow. The words are fading. Christ can’t read them clearly and neither can we. Christ in His compassion has forgiven us. If we accept Him we are washed whiter than snow and one day soon the words on those lists will all be gone and all that will be left is God’s love for us and His Presence. There will be no more sin, no more sweat and no more tears. We will be with Him feeling His Presence wash over us. Yes, while Christ was on the cross I and my sins were on His mind.

Dear God, I humbly come to you thanking you for all you did for me. I can’t imagine what you went through for me. To see my sin nailed to the cross and see the blood and sweat fade those deeds that I have committed or will commit is beyond anything I can imagine. The love you have for me is beyond me. I stand at the cross with Mary and many others humbled at your sacrifice and love for me. All I know to say is thank you. Thank you for seeing me that day you died on the cross. Thank you for caring enough about me to make this sacrifice. My prayer is that I may live through you and show others the way to the cross. May I say to others, “while Christ was on the cross He was thinking of you.” Humbly I come to you to serve, to love, and to honor you in all ways. Amen. 

Leave a Reply

