Don’t Just Sit There Do Something Revelation 3:20

Standard
Just recently I read a devotion that made me stop and think about something that I had cherished as a child growing up in my church. The thing I cherished was a picture of Jesus standing at a closed door knocking. It hung up in our church for years. I remember seeing it and fell in love with it. Years later it has taken on a different meaning and I am feeling differently about that picture.
I still like the picture, but now it makes me sad. You see if Jesus is outside knocking then that means someone has not welcomed Him into their home. That is sad. There are many folks today that Jesus is knocking on their door and they haven’t let Him in. They are missing out on some wonderful days with Christ and his fellow believers. I have let Him in my home and have welcomed Him with open arms. I would love to see someone paint a picture of Christ walking into an open door and being welcomed with arms wide open. Now that would be a picture to cherish. I wonder though, I have said I have welcomed Him into my home, and I have, but I wonder if there are rooms in my home that I have not allowed God to open and see in. Are there doors to my heart that I have not allowed God to enter and He is standing at the door waiting for me to open them for Him. Something for all of us to think about isn’t it?
We all have had guests we were excited about coming to see us and we have welcomed them at first sight. Then there have been others who we dread to see them head to our door. We are afraid they will try to sell us something, leave us unwanted information or who knows what. We are less than excited to see these folks walk up and down the streets and go from door to door. Christ is not someone we should dread. He has a lot to offer each of us if we would just open our hearts and doors to our homes to Him.
I recently heard a song by Matthew West. The name of the song is “Do Something.” I want to copy the lyrics here. I know the song is long, but it truly has meaning for each of us.
“Do Something”
I woke up this morning Saw a world full of trouble now Thought, how’d we ever get so far down
How’s it ever gonna turn around
 So I turned my eyes to Heaven I thought, “God, why don’t You do something?” Well, I just couldn’t bear the thought of People living in poverty Children sold into slavery
The thought disgusted me So, I shook my fist at Heaven Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”
He said, “I did, I created you”
 If not us, then who If not me and you 
Right now, it’s time for us to do something
 If not now, then when will we see an end to all this pain It’s not enough to do nothing
It’s time for us to do something I’m so tired of talking about how we are God’s hands and feet
But it’s easier to say than to be
 Live like angels of apathy who tell ourselves It’s alright, “somebody else will do something” 
Well, I don’t know about you But I’m sick and tired of life with no desire I don’t want a flame, I want a fire
 I wanna be the one who stands up and says, “I’m gonna do something” If not us, then who If not me and you
 Right now, it’s time for us to do something If not now, then when Will we see an end To all this pain It’s not enough to do nothing It’s time for us to do something
 We are the salt of the earth We are a city on a hill (shine shine, shine shine) 
But we’re never gonna change the world By standing still
 No we won’t stand still No we won’t stand still No we won’t stand still 
If not us, then who If not me and you Right now, it’s time for us to do something If not now, then when Will we see an end
To all this pain It’s not enough to do nothing It’s time for us to do something [x3]
As I thought about all those doors Christ is standing at and knocking I wondered who will tell them to open the door to the one that will change their life. Someone needs to go ahead of Christ and share with them who will be coming and knocking on their door. Who will be the one to spread the news of Christ? Then I heard the song. God created me. He can’t be here with us physically to do the work, but He is counting on me to do His work. I am to be His hands, feet, mouth and I am to do His bidding. If not me, then who?
How many times have I sat in church and heard the call but decided the call was for someone else. Surely, Lord, you wouldn’t ask me to do that would you? I have sat and heard many Pastors teach us we ARE God’s hands, feet, mouth and ears. I look across the aisle and go, “yes, they are doing some mighty fine work. I am sure glad God has called them.” I never stop and look in the mirror and think maybe I AM God’s hands, feet, or mouth, or ears. We always point the finger at someone else forgetting there are three fingers pointing back at us. What would happen if one day the Pastor preached about each of us being God’s hands, feet, mouth and ears and at the same time handed us a mirror? Would we see Christ in us or would we be afraid to look?
We want things to change in this world. We offer prayer begging God to change this world and very simply He says, “I can’t do it alone. I need you.” Time for talking is done it’s time for action and God is in need of us; each one of us that say we love Him need to step up and do more than just say it. It’s time to put action to our words. If not us then who?
We all can do something. No task is too small. God has something for each of us to do. Yes, it might just be prayer, but it might be prayer and kind words to our neighbor or an invitation, or a “let me pick you up and take you with me to church” or just sitting and listening to those who need someone to talk with. 
God calls each of us to do something. Just do it as a certain commercial encourages us with their shoes. 
So, I shook my fist at Heaven Said, “God, why don’t You do something?”
He said, “I did, I created you” If not us, then who?
Join me in just doing something to make our world a better place. God is knocking on closed doors, what are we going to do to help them want to open their doors to Christ?
Dear God: Thank you for people who paint pictures and we are touched by them. Thank you for giving people the ability to write songs that move us. We ARE your hands and feet. We need to get them moving. If I don’t do it then who will go in my place? I have heard you calling God. I will do something no matter how small or how unimportant I think it is. Help me to reach out to those who have not opened their door to Christ. Lead me where you want me to go and guide me as I learn to be your hands, feet, mouth and ears. Prepare my way O Lord. Amen
Matthew West Do Something You Tube I challenge you to listen to this song.
Leave a Reply

