God Knows Everything Ouch!

Standard
The last time we were together I gave you some good examples of God being everywhere; omnipresent. Today I have a good example of God being omniscience. God is aware of all we do. God reminded me of this by two little boys’ actions.
I have two grandsons. One will be four in May and the other is just over two. Of course I have to interject here they are precious and angels regardless of those times they give their mom fits. This is one of those times. They had their breakfast and later that same morning wanted to eat cereal out of the box. Mom of course said no. So while she was in the kitchen with her back turned they grabbed the cereal box. They go into the next room (where they can be seen) they pull out a footstool and they both sit down. Their backs are turned toward Mom. They have a puppy that is a Black Lab mixed with a Great Dane. He has joined them in the room. They are sitting there eating their cereal from the box like they wanted to. They also decide to be nice and share with Rocky, (named after a Paw Patrol) the black Lab mix. Mom watches them and takes a picture of them. I have posted the picture in the corner. Every now and then they turn their heads to look to see if Mom is watching/catching them. When I saw the picture I had to laugh. Mom was just in the next room. Nothing or no door separates them; they are very visible. I called my daughter and laughed and said, “Did they really think they were hiding?”
Then it hit me how much I am like those two little boys. God hit me over the head. I think it’s great God has given me grandchildren to remind me and to teach me about those times I fail to pick up on. How many times have I wanted to say something or do something and God has said no? He like the boys’ mom insisted I wasn’t to do this, yet just like the boys I went behind God’s back and did it anyhow thinking He wouldn’t catch me. He’s too busy; there are just too many people He’s caring for. He’ll miss it just this one time, or I’ll get by with it. If you have been a parent you know you have missed very little in your child’s life. We as parents just pick up on that stuff. God is even greater at picking up on the stuff we do. He knows all!
God reminded me of Adam and Eve this morning as I was writing this blog. We all know the story. They are told not to eat of the tree in the middle of the garden, but what happens Satan comes along and tempts Eve. Eve then persuades Adam to follow suit. As I am sitting here I am wondering if Blake persuaded Luke or Luke persuaded Blake. Anyhow, we know their eyes are open to their nakedness. They sewed fig leaves together and make clothing. Really? Did they not think either God would find out or He would not know? Did they really think they were hiding? “Can a man hide himself in secret places so that I cannot see him? declares the Lord. Do I not fill heaven and earth? declares the Lord.” Jeremiah 23:24 The Creator of all knows everything.
There are times I want to respond in a negative way and sometimes I do. Do I really think I can get by with it and God won’t hear it? “Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD” (Psalm 139:4). Do I really think God tunes me out at times? 
My thoughts are no better. I think to myself well I can think things and not say them and that’s ok. No one knows what I am thinking. Psalm 94:11 reminds me, “The LORD knows the thoughts of man, That they are a mere breath.”
“Lord, even before I say a word, you already know it. You are all around me—in front and in back— and have put your hand on me. Your knowledge is amazing to me; it is more than I can understand. Where can I go to get away from your Spirit? Where can I run from you? Psalm 139:4-7
“I could say, “The darkness will hide me. Let the light around me turn into night.” But even the darkness is not dark to you. The night is as light as the day; darkness and light are the same to you. Psalm 139:11-12
I was the kid growing up that could not tell a lie. Mom and Dad knew each time I did something because I couldn’t keep a straight face or a poker face. My husband and I dated only a few months before he bought me a diamond. I knew my parents would be upset not having dated that long. So I tried hiding the diamond for a while….a few days. I would only wear it when I was not with them. I wore it to church one Sunday morning and forgot to take it off for Sunday dinner. OOOPs! Did I really think my parents wouldn’t find out? They were disappointed I hadn’t shared the good news, but were concerned at the same time. We committed to a year of dating before we married. I guess it’s worked out we have been married over forty years. 
It’s the same way today.When I mess up the Holy Spirit is questioning me just like God did Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden. I feel just as guilty and I know I have messed up.
I am thinking there is a reason God gives us grandchildren. We are so busy training, teaching, mentoring, and punishing as parents we often miss the lessons they teach us, but as grandparents we are more aware of those teachable moments. This is one of them. I am so grateful for the reminder that nothing I do, say or think God doesn’t already know. Will this reminder prevent me from messing up again? Probably not, I am human and live in the world, but maybe for just a little while I will be made aware of my actions and my thoughts. God knows all.
Do you think you are hiding from God? Do you think he hasn’t heard those harsh words you just spoke to your spouse, children, or co-worker, friend or neighbor? Do you actually think your hiding and God can’t see your actions? Reread the scriptures above. God knows all.
Let me leave you with this final word from Hebrews 4:13, “Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account” (Hebrews 4:13).  It says here in this scripture everything; not just some things, but everything.
Dear God: thank you for putting little ones in my life that teach me your ways. They are a gentle reminder of how often I mess up. Bless all parents who are mentoring, teaching and training children to grow up in your ways. I know nothing I say, do, or think is hidden from you. Remind me some day I will have to give an account for those things. Thank you for the Holy Spirit that often convicts me and holds me accountable. Most of all thank you for your grace and love when I really mess up big time. Amen 
Leave a Reply

