His Eye Is On The Sparrow

Standard
This week has been a week where once again I realize God is in the midst of our daily lives working things out down to the last minute details. God is a God that is omnipresent. It also amazes me how detailed He is.
One of the first incidents happened recently. We had a woman come in where I volunteer. She was hurting. I wasn’t able to help her with her need. She did have a bill I could help her with if she came back the following Tuesday. She didn’t commit. I felt the need to set aside the amount she would need if she came back. Money was reserved for her. On the following Tuesday she did not return. Later that day or the next one of the paid staff was working one on one with a woman. Her husband had developed cancer and was dying. They were very much in need. Before we help with people we prayerfully ask God to give us wisdom in deciding who to help. God spoke to this staff member. She needed help with a bill. The staff member looked at the bill and was astonished. It was for the same amount that had been set aside. It was not the same lady. We are convinced God sent an angel in for us to set an amount aside so this lady would be helped. God is working out the details of our lives.
Another incident happened this week. A young mother and wife had come in to ask for rent money. Now we do not give rent money. We just can’t afford it. She was working with my co-volunteer at her desk. The Office Manager just happened to be at my desk talking to me because we were not busy. We had earlier prayed about the money we would be giving out that day. We asked God to remind us it was not ours, but His to do what He felt needed to be done. The young lady accepted gladly what we would be able to give her. She was very appreciative. The next thing I know the Office Manager is asking her about her rent. She had some money put back but could not manage the difference. The Office Manager told her we would pay it. I looked at her with wondering eyes and her reply was, “God just told me to pay it.” This young gal cried and thanked us and cried some more. She had to return home to get the information for us. When she came in later that day she was still crying. These were tears of joy and gratefulness. If we had been busy that day the OM would not have been in client room chatting with me. If the OM had work to do she’d be out of the room locked in her own office, but God once again worked out the details. God is good.
Then on Wednesday I went to my prayer group. One of the women there had a major praise. The day before her and her husband was going to the post office taking a short cut. They were at a stop light. I can’t remember all the details, but they were inches from being in an accident with a box truck. The truck would have hit the driver’s side door and killed them instantly. The truck swerved at the last minute and missed them. Was it a coincidence or a God thing? I am thinking it was a God thing.
These are only three incidents where God has worked out the details and been involved in people’s lives. He is ever-present in our lives. I know He works things out and I know He’s behind the scenes and we often overlook the little miracles that happen every day. Omnipresent means just that ever-present, all over, and universal. He is everywhere all the time. 
Proverbs 15:3 tells us this, “The eyes of the LORD are in every place, Watching the evil and the good.” Colossians 1:17 adds this, “He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.” I love Psalm 139:5, “You have enclosed me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me.” When we are walking with Christ, when we are in one accord with Him He has closed us in and He has His hand on us. So why do we fear? God is with us. Job 34:21 reminds us, “For His eyes are upon the ways of a man, And He sees all his steps.”  I am reminded of that great song by George Beverly Shea, his eye is on the sparrow and I know He’s watching me. 
When Jesus is my portion 
A constant friend is He 
His eyes is on the sparrow 
And I know He watches over me
His eyes is on the sparrow
and I know He over watches me
His eyes is on the sparrow
and I know He watches me
I sing because I’m happy 
I sing because I’m free 
His eyes is on the sparrow 
And I know He watches me (He watches me) 
His eyes is on the sparrow
And I know He watches (I know He watches)
I know He watches me
The next time details of your lives work out stop and think about God working out those details. When money for a bill comes in stop and think about God sending the postman just at the right time. When the job comes right when despair sets in think about what it took from God to get that job right then. God loves and cares for each of us. God IS watching over you. Can you feel it? I know there are times I feel His Presence so strongly I know I am about to go through something, but He is omnipresent and I give Him my fears. 
I hope you can start singing today because you are free and because He’s watching over you. Sing heartily, sing like you mean it and sing with a happy heart. God is with you right now. Stop right now and feel His Presence in your life. If you ask He will allow you to feel Him. Isn’t it great knowing our God is like that? If you don’t know God like this then prayerfully ask God to make His Presence known in your life. God loves you and so do I. You can always email me or get in touch with me. I’d love to pray for you and with you. 
Dear God: You are awesome. You are ever present in our lives and nothing happens that you don’t know about. You work out the details so that everything works out for your glory. You care about us and what happens to us. Thank you for being ever present in our lives and may we become more aware each day of those things you do for us. Amen
bbfrog53@gmail.com I’d love to hear your story. 
Leave a Reply

