​Grant Me Serenity?

Standard
Peace I leave with you…My peace I give you. I do not give you as the world gives. 
Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. – Jesus of Nazareth, John 14:27
Peace I leave with you…My peace I give you. I do not give you as the world gives. 
Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. – Jesus of Nazareth, John 14:27
I am learning there are some things and some times in my life that I cannot change. It doesn’t matter what I do I can’t change things; I can’t cause people to change their habits or their way of life. I have been upset with someone over the past few weeks about some habits they have. I have even expressed my anger to this certain someone over the past few weeks. Did it change things? Did it make him/her change? Did it make the situation better? No to all of these questions all it did was make for an uneasy situation and a stressful one at that. Then I battle with sitting down and writing an article when my heart is not where it should be. So, what’s the solution?
Each and every day I try to put some encouraging, thoughtful words on Facebook. I think we have enough garbage on there so I try to put something positive on there. This is what I wrote this morning:
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the 
courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference. 
God knew what I needed to hear this morning and He gave it to me. This is the answer when we are frustrated with the way things are, the people who frustrate us and those things in our life that we battle with. 
Serenity means tranquility, peacefulness, and calmness according to my Thesaurus. It goes on to say composure, poise and contentment. Really, I need to be tranquil when things aren’t going my way and I can’t change things? Really, I am to remain cool and be poised and contented when I can’t change people or the situation I find myself in? That is hard to do. 
It’s hard to remain poised when the new Beautician you just tried cuts your hair way to short and you’re thinking she skinned you. (After you have had your little tantrum you find out later your friends love it! What was I thinking?) It’s hard to be calm when you put on your favorite sweater and find it has developed a hole where everyone can see it and it now has to go to the trash. It’s hard when you come across this person daily and he/she disappoints you once again. It’s hard to remain peaceful when you expect them to do something they have promised to do and you find that once again like in the past they have failed to keep their promise. So what are we to do? 
According to this we are to ask God to give us serenity. Grant means to allow or permit or even concede (again from my Thesaurus). So I am to ask God to allow me to be serene about these things; allow the peace and the coolness to move in and take over those feelings that I know aren’t good for me to have. When I came home (before I saw many of my friends) my husband told me he loved my hair. Well, husbands are to encourage you and lift you up; that’s his job. So, did I put trust in his words? Not very much. As I looked into the mirror God reminded me I didn’t have cancer (like so many I know) and I didn’t have a handicap that I had to learn to live with. It was just hair and it would grow back. I needed to put this minor setback in perspective. 
Thinking about my favorite sweater I was reminded I had the means to go out and buy another if I thought I really needed it. That would give me a good excuse to go shopping (as if I needed one). As I looked in my drawer the thought came that I have so many favorite sweaters am I really going to miss that one? Well, I might but it will be okay. I can get over missing it. There are some that does not have the ability to have a favorite sweater or the means to buy that favorite sweater they have been keeping their eyes on in the store forever. I am being selfish and prideful.
When it came to the last situation I shared with you that has to be a God thing. I have to hand it over to God and let Him handle not the person I am having trouble with but me. I have to let go of the situation and let God move in this situation. I have done that in the past and done okay with it, but then after a while Satan rears up his ugly hand and I let it get out of control again. I have been with this person long enough to know he/she is not about to change. That’s just the way this person is. I am not in a position I can distance myself from this person so I have to learn to live with the situation. I can pray that God will work in this person’s life, but it is more about me learning to be poised and serene when things aren’t going like I want them to. Then I have to look at the situation and ask, “Why does this upset me so? Everything always works out well.” Sometimes I think  it’s because I want to be in charge and I can’t be. Sometimes I think this is just one area Satan knows he can work his magic in and get to me. I am a very orderly, get-things done on time person and this person waits till the very last minute to take care of things and that just drives me up the wall. So, it’s about me accepting the situation, try to remain calm and show this person I truly do care and trust him/her. This is one area I have to give up to God on a daily basis. I can’t do this on my own. God grant me the serenity to accept this thing I cannot change and to accept this person the way they are. 
The next part of this is the courage to change the things I can. I can change my attitude about things. I can change how I look at things. I can change the way I look at this person. I can change those things with God’s help. What I also need to do is ask God to show me if there is something I can do to change the situation. I need to ask God to show me where or if I can change the situation. Is there something I am doing that is adding to this problem? Is there something I can do to alleviate this situation? 
Finally, I have to ask for wisdom from God to know the difference. If I can’t change the situation then I need the wisdom to know I can’t change it and then serenity will fall into place. If God shows me there is nothing I can do and I need to accept this person as he/she is then I need to accept that and ask God for poise, calmness, and tranquility when these situations arrive. I also have to ask God to shut my mouth when I want to say something that is not helpful and I know will only cause the problem to explode.I need to learn to walk away from the situation to remain calm and poised. I have to ask God to give me clean, clear and good thoughts and not be so negative or destructive when things don’t go like I like them or things are not done as quickly as I’d like. 
I know I am not alone in struggling with this stuff. It might be a person, it might be health related, it might be food related, or it could be a number of things. All I know is God is there ready to give me serenity if I cannot change the situation. He is ready to hand out a big dose of courage to change those things I can change and He’s ready to give me wisdom to know the difference. I am now seeking the wisdom to know if there are some things I can change. After that I will seek from God the courage to either change those things or the serenity to live with the situation. 
Where are you in all of this? Join me in living out this prayer and asking God for serenity, courage and wisdom in all the many situations we find ourselves in. 
Dear God, I do ask for the wisdom to know what things I can change in my life. Help me to find the courage to change those things that need changing and then grant that I may have the serenity to live in peace when I can’t change situations or people. Help me to love those who give me fits, help to accept those things I can’t change. I know I can’t do this on my own, but through you all things are possible. Amen. 
Each and every day I try to put some encouraging, thoughtful words on Facebook. I think we have enough garbage on there so I try to put something positive on there. This is what I wrote this morning:
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the 
courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference. 
God knew what I needed to hear this morning and He gave it to me. This is the answer when we are frustrated with the way things are, the people who frustrate us and those things in our life that we battle with. 
Serenity means tranquility, peacefulness, and calmness according to my Thesaurus. It goes on to say composure, poise and contentment. Really, I need to be tranquil when things aren’t going my way and I can’t change things? Really, I am to remain cool and be poised and contented when I can’t change people or the situation I find myself in? That is hard to do. 
It’s hard to remain poised when the new Beautician you just tried cuts your hair way to short and you’re thinking she skinned you. (After you have had your little tantrum you find out later your friends love it! What was I thinking?) It’s hard to be calm when you put on your favorite sweater and find it has developed a hole where everyone can see it and it now has to go to the trash. It’s hard when you come across this person daily and he/she disappoints you once again. It’s hard to remain peaceful when you expect them to do something they have promised to do and you find that once again like in the past they have failed to keep their promise. So what are we to do? 
According to this we are to ask God to give us serenity. Grant means to allow or permit or even concede (again from my Thesaurus). So I am to ask God to allow me to be serene about these things; allow the peace and the coolness to move in and take over those feelings that I know aren’t good for me to have. When I came home (before I saw many of my friends) my husband told me he loved my hair. Well, husbands are to encourage you and lift you up; that’s his job. So, did I put trust in his words? Not very much. As I looked into the mirror God reminded me I didn’t have cancer (like so many I know) and I didn’t have a handicap that I had to learn to live with. It was just hair and it would grow back. I needed to put this minor setback in perspective. 
Thinking about my favorite sweater I was reminded I had the means to go out and buy another if I thought I really needed it. That would give me a good excuse to go shopping (as if I needed one). As I looked in my drawer the thought came that I have so many favorite sweaters am I really going to miss that one? Well, I might but it will be okay. I can get over missing it. There are some that does not have the ability to have a favorite sweater or the means to buy that favorite sweater they have been keeping their eyes on in the store forever. I am being selfish and prideful.
When it came to the last situation I shared with you that has to be a God thing. I have to hand it over to God and let Him handle not the person I am having trouble with but me. I have to let go of the situation and let God move in this situation. I have done that in the past and done okay with it, but then after a while Satan rears up his ugly hand and I let it get out of control again. I have been with this person long enough to know he/she is not about to change. That’s just the way this person is. I am not in a position I can distance myself from this person so I have to learn to live with the situation. I can pray that God will work in this person’s life, but it is more about me learning to be poised and serene when things aren’t going like I want them to. Then I have to look at the situation and ask, “Why does this upset me so? Everything always works out well.” Sometimes I think  it’s because I want to be in charge and I can’t be. Sometimes I think this is just one area Satan knows he can work his magic in and get to me. I am a very orderly, get-things done on time person and this person waits till the very last minute to take care of things and that just drives me up the wall. So, it’s about me accepting the situation, try to remain calm and show this person I truly do care and trust him/her. This is one area I have to give up to God on a daily basis. I can’t do this on my own. God grant me the serenity to accept this thing I cannot change and to accept this person the way they are. 
The next part of this is the courage to change the things I can. I can change my attitude about things. I can change how I look at things. I can change the way I look at this person. I can change those things with God’s help. What I also need to do is ask God to show me if there is something I can do to change the situation. I need to ask God to show me where or if I can change the situation. Is there something I am doing that is adding to this problem? Is there something I can do to alleviate this situation? 
Finally, I have to ask for wisdom from God to know the difference. If I can’t change the situation then I need the wisdom to know I can’t change it and then serenity will fall into place. If God shows me there is nothing I can do and I need to accept this person as he/she is then I need to accept that and ask God for poise, calmness, and tranquility when these situations arrive. I also have to ask God to shut my mouth when I want to say something that is not helpful and I know will only cause the problem to explode.I need to learn to walk away from the situation to remain calm and poised. I have to ask God to give me clean, clear and good thoughts and not be so negative or destructive when things don’t go like I like them or things are not done as quickly as I’d like. 
I know I am not alone in struggling with this stuff. It might be a person, it might be health related, it might be food related, or it could be a number of things. All I know is God is there ready to give me serenity if I cannot change the situation. He is ready to hand out a big dose of courage to change those things I can change and He’s ready to give me wisdom to know the difference. I am now seeking the wisdom to know if there are some things I can change. After that I will seek from God the courage to either change those things or the serenity to live with the situation. 
Where are you in all of this? Join me in living out this prayer and asking God for serenity, courage and wisdom in all the many situations we find ourselves in. 
Dear God, I do ask for the wisdom to know what things I can change in my life. Help me to find the courage to change those things that need changing and then grant that I may have the serenity to live in peace when I can’t change situations or people. Help me to love those who give me fits, help to accept those things I can’t change. I know I can’t do this on my own, but through you all things are possible. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

