A Prayer for the New Year

Standard
It’s 2016! Wow, just a few years ago we were all fretting about 2000. Here we are 16 years later. It’s great to have a fresh New Year upon us. We can learn from our mistakes from last year, but we also need to leave last year behind and look forward to all the good we can do this year. 
I know we are of many faiths and denominations, but I love John Wesley’s Covenant Prayer. A few years ago we had a Minister that led us in this prayer the first Sunday of January. The first time I heard it God touched my life. Each year I love to drag it out and remind myself the words John Wesley gave us. It’s good for all of us no matter the denomination. Let me share with you his words:
A Covenant Prayer in the Wesleyan Tradition (Contemporary Version) 
I am no longer my own, but yours.
Put me to what you will, place me with whom you will.
Put me to doing, put me to suffering.
Let me be put to work for you or set aside for you,
Praised for you or criticized for you.
Let me be full, let me be empty.
Let me have all things, let me have nothing.
I freely and fully surrender all things to your glory and service.
And now, O wonderful and holy God,
Creator, Redeemer, and Sustainer, 
you are mine, and I am yours.
So be it.
And the covenant which I have made on earth,
Let it also be made in heaven. Amen.
I think each year it is refreshing to proclaim once more we belong to God and not ourselves. It just brings to our minds that we have died to self and live in Christ. “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20
As you read it place yourself in this prayer to God for the New Year. Each year we ask God to put us in His will with those people He chooses for us to come in contact with. We may be the only ministers some ever see. When we give God control of our lives it may be to put us to work or to suffer for some reason. He has plans for us. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11
It’s a gentle reminder also that God gives us all things. It also reminds us that if we have nothing we will always have God’s love and He will have our backs. 
How different would your life look like if you surrendered your life freely and fully; all things, like family, material things, money? Often we have a tendency to hold some things back from Him.
Can you honestly say you are His and He is yours? 
This is a covenant made between you and God. A covenant is a promise and a pledge. Are you willing to make a covenant this year? I challenge you to find a quiet place in your home or elsewhere and ponder on these things. I challenge you to pray this prayer this year and make it come alive in your life. May God’s blessings flow on you this month as together we begin our journey. 
 Dear Lord: Thank you for a New Year! Be with us as we go into the New Year. Help us to follow John Wesley’s Covenant Prayer and follow your ways this year. Amen
Leave a Reply

