The Next Gift We are Going to Open Is…

Standard
​The next gift we are going to talk about is the gift of peace that God gives us. Now all of these gifts are based on our accepting God and allowing Him to live His life through ours.
God gives us the gift of peace. He hands it to us and it’s ours for the taking. He wants us to live in peace and not in fear or dread. Too many of us and I am including myself in this, love to worry. Oh, we may say we don’t, but we do. If we didn’t love to worry so much we’d hand things over to Christ and then forget them. But, we don’t. We hand them over and then take them back from Him.
If we didn’t worry so much think about the freedom our minds would have. We’d be free to think more about others than our worries. If we didn’t worry so much we’d be free to think about God’s Word more. We would have time to think about random acts of kindness.
God hands us the gift of peace, but we don’t often open it up or we say thank you and then set it on the shelf. Listen to Jesus’s words in John 14:27 “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” Jesus very clearly states in this scripture that he leave us with peace; his peace. He doesn’t want our hearts to be troubled with worry and he certainly doesn’t want us to be afraid. All we need to do is go to Him with our fears and troubles leave them at His feet and walk away. Something I do when I give Christ my troubles is this I stand with my hands up like I am holding something, I visualize the thing that is giving me fits and I place it in my hands, then I lift my hands with the palms up and visualize handing them over to God. I’d like to say I never worry or fret, but I am human and I too take them back sometimes. Another thing I love to do when I am fearful is to breathe in and say, “I can’t and then breathe out and say, “But God can.”
Here is another scripture that shows God’s gift to us, Numbers 6:25-26, “the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.”  God wants to give us peace; it’s ours for the taking.
“So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace.” Romans 8:6 When we allow God’s spirit to control our lives it leads to a life of peace. God does not only give us the gift of peace, but He also expects us to pass on the gift of peace to others. We know the more we give away the more we get in return.
One of my favorite songs talks about just like we are to be in harmony with God and to share His peace with Him we are also to share that peace with others and be in harmony with them as well. 
Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me
Let there be peace on earth the peace that was meant to be
With God as our father brothers all are we
Let me walk with my brother in perfect harmony.
Let peace begin with me let this be the moment now
With every step I take let this be my solemn vow
To take each moment and live each moment in peace eternally
Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth and let it begin with me
Let there be peace on earth the peace that was meant to be
With God as our father brothers all are we
Let me walk with my brother in perfect harmony.
Read more: Vince Gill – Let There Be Peace On Earth Lyrics | MetroLyrics
God gives us peace as a gift. I have been in the midst of turmoil and still have felt God’s peace within me. When I am in relationship with God I am at peace. I know what it is to have peace that comes from within and can only be experienced when I have a right relationship with God. I want to share that peace with others. I want them to know peace is not something that can be found in material things or relationships that are here today and gone tomorrow. You can’t buy peace and you can’t have peace of mind if you are constantly searching for the next big thing. I want others to experience a peace that passes all understanding; God’s peace.
God’s handing you a gift of peace. Have you opened it and set it on a shelf? Have you used it and then forgotten you had it? Have you shared the gift of peace with others? This Christmas take the gift He’s given us and begin to live in peace and harmony with God and with those around us. Like the song says, “let there be peace and let it begin with me. 
Dear God, Thank you for the gift of peace. When I am not in right relationship or I have distanced myself from you I lose the gift of peace. I set it on a shelf and decide not to use it. Thank you for giving me the gift of peace. This Christmas and into the next year let me offer those around me the gift you have so freely given me; the gift of peace. Amen.
Leave a Reply

