​God Was That You?

Standard
I have seen God work so often throughout my life, but every time He does I am still amazed. People see things happen and they say its’ just coincidence, I see things happen and I call it God incidence.
On Facebook I like to post inspirational thoughts and quotes. One Sunday morning I posted a picture of a person holding his hand up to the sky with his head bent. The words on the picture were, “There’s no greater act of worship than giving God all of you.” That’s what we are called to do; give God fully to Him no holding back.
That same Sunday we had a Missionary from the Democratic Republic of the Congo come and speak. The Rev. Dr. Jonathan Baker spoke of a time he was in worship and they were passing the basket for the morning’s offering. He spoke that they had to have a basket because fresh vegetables, fruit and other items were often given as an offering. Money was scarce and not often given. He shared about this one lady who looked at the basket and had nothing to give. She moved from her seat and looked up at the cross and then back at the basket finally after several minutes she place the basket on the floor and stepped inside the basket giving her whole self to God as an offering. Surrendering herself…just like my picture.
I had not noticed the final song we were to sing that morning, but as the Pastor asked us to stand and sing the final hymn I was surprised it was the hymn, “I Surrender All.” Now I am sure this was a coordinated effort for the worship to flow, but I say it as God’s working in my life. 
The night before I had struggled with my husband about some issues I was having with him; to me they were serious, but to him it was not a biggie (why are guys like that?) I went to bed a little upset. 
As I thought about what I would post I was prompted to post this one not really thinking about my situation. As I heard all morning long about surrendering I began to see God was asking me to surrender not only my husband, but the situation as well. I had to surrender all to Him. I know God must get tired of me doing that, but it’s something that I sometimes fail to do. I think I can go it alone, I think I can do it may way, I think I’d need not bother Him, and then softly and gently He reminds me I am to surrender all! I am to surrender all not a portion, not a little bit, but all.
“Then he said to them all, “If anyone wants to become my follower, he must deny himself, take up his cross daily, and follow me” Luke 9:23. One of the words in my Thesaurus that describes denies is rejecting. We are to reject all those negative thoughts, all those things that hold us back from following Christ. We are to surrender anything that keeps us from following Christ. I had some things I needed to surrender that morning. 
Now is this all coincidence? You may think so, but I don’t. I think God orchestrated these things so I could get the message He had for me that morning. 
Here is another example. I was helping someone in the office who had tooth problems. He was sitting at my desk, the lady who was being helped by another client advisor across from me over heard my client talk about his tooth problem. He needed a dentist who would help him and the cost be minimal. The lady apologized and interrupted us. She had just been to a dentist that was willing to provide low cost or no cost dental work. She had the name and address and shared it with my client. Again coincidence? I don’t think so. I believe once again God orchestrated this so the man could get help and the lady was there to provide the help this man needed.
God works things out for our glory. We just miss it sometimes or take them for granted.  “A state of mind that sees God in everything is evidence of growth in grace and a thankful heart” Charles Q. Finney. I am learning to see God in everything and be grateful.
God gives us just what we need when we need it. It might be an encouraging word from someone, it might be a dentist’s address, or it might be a helping hand, but God will provide those times for us.  When it happens we can look up, smile and say, “God you did this for me! Thank you!”
Next time you feel the urge to do something, post something, or share something remember God may be orchestrating it and it might just be something someone needs to hear. If you find yourself hearing the same thing over and over all day long in different ways, it might be God speaking to you. Stop and listen. God has your back. He knows what you need. He’ll provide, but it’s up to us to be attentive enough to hearing the message.
Seeing God in everything is what it’s all about. Surrendering all…thank you God; that was you. 
Dear God, You are awesome. You orchestrate events, incidents and circumstances. We often don’t think much about it and we don’t give you enough credit, but You really are in all things that happen. We often think that was just a coincidence when it was really your working on our behalf. Help us to be more aware of those times you work in our lives. Amen.  
Leave a Reply

