Pulled In A Different Direction

Standard
Each week at the beginning I set up my week. I make plans. I look at my calendar and I know what the week will look like, until God changes it. It was one of those weeks.
I was scheduled to write a blog and post it one morning. It was one of my free days. I set aside Monday and Friday for writing blogs and posting. The rest of the day belongs to me to clean house, have lunch with friends, whatever. Tuesdays and Thursdays are my volunteer days. On this particular week I was asked to come in on Friday as well as my other two days.
Really? I am a volunteer. Friday is MY day. My house needs cleaning, I need some time, I want to…it turned out I was making this day all about me. I wasn’t thinking about others or their schedules or their needs. It was all about what I wanted.
As I began to go in and volunteer I was feeling pressure about not getting a blog done. I wouldn’t get to my blogging for another day. People might be looking for it and might be disappointed and…the list of complaints went on and on. Again all about my needs and wants.
God began to deal with me once more. Sharing and teaching is great. God is in my blogging, but He reminded me it’s also about doing what I am teaching and sharing with others. I often share it’s about putting others first. I often talk about how we are to serve God. I mention on more than one occasion it’s about letting God have our schedules and do our planning.
My words and messages can be eloquent, but if that is all they are they are not worthy to be written. I should be willing to follow my own messages and do those things I want others to do. How many times have we heard someone say, “Do what I say, not what I do?” Why should we listen to others if they aren’t following their own advice?
I went to my place of volunteer and I was able to share with others and help a friend understand scripture more clearly. I got reacquainted with a friend just to find out her ex-mother-in-law, who she loves dearly and is still friends with is a friend of mine. We laughed and talked about it being a small world. God had plans for me that day. I was where I was supposed to be when I was supposed to be there.
When we allow God to take our calendars, mold our days, weeks and months we will be much happier and we will accomplish those things God wants us to accomplish. If our calendars are so full and if we are never willing to relinquish them then our lives will be full of busyness (and not much room for God) that at the end of the day we will feel we have accomplished nothing but checking off our to do list.
“Dear friends, do you think you’ll get anywhere in this if you learn all the right words but never do anything? Does merely talking about faith indicate that a person really has it? For instance, you come upon an old friend dressed in rags and half-starved and say, “Good morning, friend! Be clothed in Christ! Be filled with the Holy Spirit!” and walk off without providing so much as a coat or a cup of soup—where does that get you? Isn’t it obvious that God-talk without God-acts is outrageous nonsense?” James 2:14-17
Stop and think about our ministers, priests, or those who lead our churches. If they got up and preached the Gospel and talked about love every Sunday then come Monday they lead a life that is the completely opposite how well would we respond to their message on Sunday? I can’t ask you to set your priorities right it I am not willing to do the same. I can’t ask you to be a servant and serve others, putting others needs first if I am not willing to do just that.
1 John 3:18 says this, “Dear children, let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.” I can’t teach you about love if I am not willing to love others. I knew when I went in Frank and Pat, two of the volunteers would be there. I truly love Frank and Pat; I knew they’d lift my spirits and I would soon forget my obligations and have a great day. That’s exactly what happened. Pat and I shared some scripture, I was able to see Frank’s smiling face and wish him a happy birthday and I was able to help our clients. I left with a smile on my face and that’s something I would have missed if I hadn’t shown up. My friend that I subbed for could also enjoy her time away knowing I was in the office and things would be okay.
Once again I am learning it’s about letting God plan my day, my week, and my month. It’s about not getting upset when God calls me in a different direction. It’s about doing as well as speaking the Word.
So if you get on the computer, or phone or tablet and see my blog is not updated just stop and smile knowing God has pulled me in a different direction.
How are you at giving God your calendar? Do you practice what you preach? What message do you share with others? Are you living out that message in your own life?
Dear Lord, thank you for the blessings of leading us and guiding us. We don’t always see it as a blessing, but I am the first to admit when I let you lead and guide I am smiling at the end of the day. Help me not to be so much about checking things off of my to-do list as it is about serving you. May my actions back up the message I share with others. Thank you for your love, grace and mercy. Amen
Leave a Reply

