Am I too Comfortable?

Standard
We were in Indiana recently to visit family. The temperatures were rather cool or at least cooler than what we have been experiencing here in Texas. We had been having temperatures in the high 90’s and low 100’s. Indiana’s temperature while we were there was in the low 70’s and high 60’s. I knew it would be cooler so I took a few clothes for the cooler temps not as many as I should have though. I also thought it would be nice to experience the cooler temps. For the first few hours it was nice then I got cold. 
We left there and came back to Texas. It was still very warm; hot! I had adjusted to the cooler temperatures and was beginning to enjoy them, now we were back in the hotter temperatures. I related to my husband I just want a nice in between. I don’t want to be hot and I don’t want to be cold. I just want it to be in between. That’s where I want to live in the in between stages. 
God quickly reminded it might be okay to be in between with the temperatures, but not with our faith. He calls us to be hot or cold, not lukewarm.
 “I know you inside and out, and find little to my liking. You’re not cold; you’re not hot—far better
 to be either cold or hot! You’re stale. You’re stagnant. You make me want to vomit. 
You brag, ‘I’m rich, I’ve got it made, I need nothing from anyone,’ oblivious that in fact you’re a
 pitiful, blind beggar, threadbare and homeless.” Revelation 3:15-17 The Message
I want to feel comfortable when it comes to my body temperature. I want to be neither hot nor cold. I just want to be comfortable. Being comfortable is not what God wants from us. He doesn’t want us to be in between. We are to be hot or cold not comfortable. 
When I am hot I usually tell my hubby I feel like I am on fire. That’s what God wants for us to be on fire for Him. When we are on fire we allow others to get close to us and warm up; we want them to feel God’s presence in our lives and to experience the light that comes from the fire that is glowing within us. 
When I am cold that is all I can think of being cold and wanting to warm up. When I think of being cold I often think of a dark, damp, place. A place that is void of any sun. It’s cloudy and dark and even kind of stormy. It’s bleak. That is not a place God wants us to be, but He’d rather us be here than in the middle. When we are cold we often try to find a warm place. When we are cold and experiencing dark days we often try to find sun to lighten our days. That usually means we are searching….searching for heat. We are searching for Him when we are cold and experiencing bleak days. We know we need something to warm us and so we search out what will bring us comfort. God will bring us comfort. He offers the one thing we need most Sonshine. 
When we are neither hot or cold we are comfortable and we often become stale or complacent. We can get smug thinking we are just fine. Others cannot warm up to our heat because we often have nothing to offer. We just have enough for ourselves and nobody else. When we are in that position we need something or someone to come along and offer to stir up our fire and get it going again. We can do that through prayer, Bible studies, retreats, or doing daily devotions. When we are comfortable Satan will often plant ideas in our head that we are okay and we don’t need anything or anyone else. We are just fine the way we are. 
According to the scriptures we aren’t. God doesn’t want us to be lukewarm. We are to be on fire for Him or we are to be cold. Either hot or cold God can use us, but He can’t use us if we are in the middle; lukewarm. If we are on fire for God He will use that to help others come to Him. If we are cold He has a chance to work with you and to warm you and help you find Sonshine, but if you are comfortable you are contented and can’t be used or bothered with. 
So maybe I don’t want to be comfortable; maybe I want to be hot. Cold is not place I want to be. I need my sunshine and I am always longing for more Sonshine on my life. 
So where are you at in your faith? Are you on fire and really hot, are you cold in a dark desperate place looking for some Sonshine, or are you comfortable thinking you are just fine and really don’t need anything or anyone? If you are cold come and allow me to warm you up and share my Sonlight with you. If you are comfortable then I pray that God will soon make you uncomfortable so you can move into a warmer environment and experience more of His Sonlight. 
Dear God: I realize you don’t want me comfortable. You want me hot and not really cold, but you’d rather have me one way or the other. When I become smug or complacent remind me it’s time to move forward. Thank you for scripture and warnings about being too comfortable. Amen.  
Leave a Reply

