Johnny Appleseed

Standard
It is my understanding that Johnny Appleseed is known for planting apple seeds as he traveled about. That was his claim to fame. I have given Johnny Appleseed some thought. I have no desire to walk this great land and plant apple seeds. I don’t think my feet and legs could handle it, besides it’s much too hot in Texas.
So what would be my claim to fame if I could have one? Well, for one I think I would be remembered as the “Frog Lady” for handing out frogs to those who need to be reminded to fully rely on God. It has always been my greatest desire to share my faith with those who are searching for something, but don’t know what they are searching for. 
One of the other things I would really like to be remembered for is leaving you smiling and feeling better about yourself. The Boy Scouts have a rule: “Always leave the campground cleaner than you found it.” If you find a mess on the ground, you clean it up regardless of who might have made the mess.” Actually the original form of that rule, written by Robert Stephenson Smyth Baden-Powell, the father of scouting, was “Try and leave this world a little better than you found it.” I think that describes my motto perfectly. 
I would love it if everyone found themselves in a happier mood or their load a little lighter or see themselves smile a little more after being around me. I wouldn’t want them to remember me as much as what I left them with which I hope would be deeper faith and hope in God. I would want them to see God in me and know I lived my whole life through Him. 
What I really want to do the rest of my days is spread seeds of happiness, faith and hope. I want people to know that it doesn’t matter what you have done or who you are or where you are in life you can be full of joy in all of your circumstances. I hope that by sharing some of my more difficult days with people and sharing that it was God that helped me get through those tough times He can do the same for them. I want people to know they can still have joy in their lives if they believe in God. These are some thoughts from David Jeremiah, “When Paul exhorted the Philippians to rejoice, He was not motivating them to seek happiness. Joy is not happiness. Joy is a relationship. When we have joy it can be our constant possession because it does not depend on the circumstances of the day. Rejoice in the Lord.”  I want to teach people how to have genuine joy in their lives and how to live joyfully. 
I want to teach people that they can do all things through Christ who strengthens them. The things I have been able to accomplish have only happened because God has given me the strength to do them. He has equipped me for every job He has called me to do. I have done nothing on my own and when I have I have failed miserably. I want them to experience faith not so much in themselves, but in what God can do through them. God will equip us for every task He has called us to do. It takes taking that first step of faith and moving out beyond what you can see and trusting God to guide you along the way. I want people to feel like they can accomplish every dream they have or every task God has given them to do when I walk away. 
I am around a lot of people who have lost hope. They have lost hope in themselves, in securing a better future for their families and they have lost hope in their financial wealth. I want to plant seeds of hopefulness in people. I want them to see it’s not in this world that we place our hope, but it’s in God that we place our hope in. Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” God gives us hope even when things look hopeless. I want to plant seeds of hope in God as I work with people and share with people.
It is my goal where I volunteer to make those who come in to see me feel better than they did before they came in. I want them to leave with a smile on their face and a renewed hope that life can and will be better. I want to leave them with a prayer and/or words of faith that will help them get through what they are going through. 
I have a small group of friends (men and women) who mean the world to me. When I leave this group I always have a better outlook on life, I always have a smile on my face and I am always in a better mood after being with these folks. That is what I want to leave with others. 
I was with a different bunch of women this past weekend. I don’t often get to be with them and share with them. When we are together it’s like we have never been apart. We pick up where we left off. It’s always a joy to be with them and to share with them. Again I am a better person after being with this bunch also. I want others to experience the joy and love I have to offer them not because of anything I have done, but because of what God has done in me. 
Johnny Appleseed doesn’t really fit me, but in my bag that contains seeds you would find me planting seeds of joy, faith and hope in Christ. You would see me leaving smiles along the path I have taken. And hopefully if you follow my path it will lead you to Christ. In Him you will find the true source of all my seeds. 
If you were to be Johnny Appleseed what would you plant?
Dear God: Thank you for giving me the ability to love people no matter what the circumstance. Help me as I plant my seeds of joy, faith, and hope. May I leave people with a smile not because of anything I have said or done, but because of what you have done in my life. May the seeds I plant lead people to you not me. May they find hope in you, faith to trust in you more and a joy that cannot be explained. Water the seeds I plant and may they grow abundantly in you. Amen.
Leave a Reply

