Overcoming my Fears

Standard
Okay so maybe it’s my age. Maybe it’s God finally getting through to me. Who knows? What I do know is God has taught me something about myself this morning.
I am visiting my daughters in Indiana. The daughter I am staying with had to go to the Dentist today. I had a few minutes of alone time. During that time God began to speak to me.
He reminded me I have allowed my fears to keep me from doing those things I’d like to accomplish. Part of my fear is the unknown, part of my fear is stepping out of my comfort zone and part of my fear is Satan telling me I can’t do something. What I was reminded of was that I drove from Texas to Indiana which is approximately 1100 miles and about 16 hours. Part of that time was driving in rain and storms. I did it! I have done it before a few years ago, but I hadn’t done it for a little while. The last time I came to Indiana for a solo visit I had a friend to help me drive.
Getting out of Texas was a challenge, but one I overcame. The next challenge was Indianapolis, Indiana. I arrived there during the rush hour traffic. The traffic reminded me of the Dallas/Ft. Worth traffic; heavy. Using my hands free device my husband talked me through Indianapolis. I overcame that challenge as well.
As I look back over the last few days I am still amazed at myself. I did this with God’s help and together we accomplished some amazing things. We overcame obstacles that were standing in my way of being with my children and grandchildren. 
So this morning God said to me, “If we can do this together think about what all we can accomplish together. If you set your fears aside and just trust in me then we could do much.” I said in an earlier devotion I often make mountains out of moles hills and worry about things that often don’t come to pass. 
I realize now Satan and myself are the only ones that keep me from doing those things God has called me to do. Satan puts fears into my life; often telling me I am not equipped or called to do those things or that something awful will happen. I allow myself to be driven by those fears and back out of doing things He’s called me to do. 
At the last minute before leaving Texas I almost backed out. I almost gave into my fears and decided I could not do this. The thing of it is I couldn’t have done this; only through God was I able to do this. Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.” There is an old hymn that says, “Trust and obey for there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus but to trust and obey.” 
Several months back my daughter overcame her fears. She decided for their 15th anniversary her and her husband would skydive. They jumped out of the plane attached to another person, but still they jumped. I watched the video again last night. She jumped from a perfectly healthy plane to the ground. She was ecstatic after she did it. I was proud of her. 
I don’t plan on jumping out of a plane anytime soon; although the thought did cross my mind last night. I am sure the next time God calls me to do something, Satan will be right there telling me I can’t. I probably will let the fears kick in because it will be something out of my comfort zone, or I will fear the unknown. I will be hesitant to do what God has called me to do; that is the human side of me. But, I am hoping before the fears settle in I can be reminded of this trip and the courage it took and what I overcame. I hope I can remember to tell Satan if God has called me to it, He will bring me through it. I hope I can be as courageous the next time as I was this time. I also hope I can remember with God all things are possible. I want to remember that it’s not about letting fears overtake me, it’s about trusting God and standing back and watching what amazing things we can accomplish together. 
I have to drive home by myself. I am no longer fearful or dreading the trip back even if I have to drive in the rain and storms. I will be careful driving back, but not fearful. 
God has taught me a valuable lesson. Wonder what the future holds for me? 
Do you let your fears keep you from doing something God has called you to do? If He’s called you to do it there is no reason to fear. Satan is controlling the fear and often times we give in to that fear. It’s time to be bold and step out in faith. Trust and obey for there’s no other way. I hear you God!
Dear God: I am no longer going to give in to my fears. I will step out courageously the next time you call. I may still be timid, but I will remember this trip and the fears I overcame to do what needed to be done. I will remember I can do all things through you. It’s time Satan took a back seat and time for you to take over directing my paths and leading me in the right direction. You have reminded me we can do great things together if I just trust and obey. I got it! Amen
Leave a Reply

