I Will Never Learn

Standard
I will never learn. God, please forgive me. I started out this morning leaving Texas and was headed to Indiana. We have been having some really horrible storms throughout the week. The evening before I left the storms were horrible. I debated whether or not I should go. I kept looking at my weather bug app. It looked like I was going to be driving in rain and storms all the way. I jumped ahead and looked at some of the cities I would be driving through and they all said rain, lightening and heavy storms. I would be driving through West Memphis when the storms would hit. I dreaded it. I debated. My husband assured me I would be fine. I had all my family and friends praying and I was confident I would be fine even if I hit storms. 
My husband and I headed out for breakfast before I made my solo flight. We left in the pouring rain. I began to have doubts again. For some reason though, I was calm and at peace. I think part of me was ok only because I knew if anything happened I’d be okay. If something awful did happen at least I’d be in Heaven. I kind of felt like Paul; Paul said no matter what happened he’d be okay. We got drenched going into eat. When we came out it had stopped. I finally got on the road and was calm. Before too long the storm it again; it was horrible. Traffic was crawling, but everyone was driving so politely even with their flashers on. The lightning struck several times. For the first time I got to see lightning strikes and realized they are not so ugly and kind of pretty to watch. I didn’t like driving in it yet at the same time I felt calm and at peace. I drove in it for at least two hours. I was amazed at myself I never felt scared or nervous.
There are a couple of reasons, I believe. First, I knew God was doing the driving. I had prayed God would be my hands on the wheel and my feet on the pedals. Second, I knew I had several churches praying along with bunches of people. I was in good hands. Third, like I said earlier I am at peace with whatever happens. 
After about two hours the rain stopped and it cleared off. I was even able to get my sunglasses out and put them on. It sprinkled on me several times, but not the hard down pour like I thought it would. I got to West Memphis and it was beginning to look ominous and I thought okay here we go. Guess what? It never even sprinkled. I did have a different kind of problem at West Memphis though. I missed my turnoff for 55 north. A semi wouldn’t let me over and I had to go straight. I was on 55 south. First, I panicked and then I got extremely calm. I found a sign that said this way to 55n. I turned the way it suggested and quickly found 55n. I got back on and was on the right path again. 
God and I had a long talk. He reminded me often times I make mountain out of mole hills. I worry about things that often never happen. “Think about the ravens. They don’t plant or gather crops. They don’t have any barns at all. But God feeds them. You are worth much more than birds! Can you add even one hour to your life by worrying? You can’t do that very little thing. So why worry about the rest?” Luke 12:24-26 I also was reminded of my passenger… Freddy, the Frog. I have a very large frog that travels with me. He sits in the front seat and with his seat belt on. It’s my reminder to fully rely on God. 
I am in the hotel room and very tired, but at peace with all that has taken place today and oh yes, by the way, my faith has been made a little stronger. I have no idea what the rest of the trip will hold, but after today I am not concerned. I know whatever happens it will be just fine. And if I go through another storm? Well, I will be reminded he got me through these today and He will be with me as I go through them again. 
Storms are something that should not be taken lightly. Storms are serious business, but with God all things are possible. When storms hit we need to take cover and listen for God’s guidance along the way. God will direct our paths. He will let us know when it’s time to take cover and hunker down. He wants us to respect our storms, but not let them overpower us. With God as my pilot and Freddy the frog as my co-pilot I am ready. 
Dear God: Thank you for being with me today. Thank you for each one of those churches and folks who have prayed for me. Help me to respect the storms that come into my life, but help me not to let them over power me. Remind me always you have my back in all things and making mountains out of mole hills is not what you want for me. You want me to fully rely on you at all times and in all ways. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

