God’s in the Business of Tweaking

Standard
It amazes me how we think things through and we have a plan for our life. We often think God is in that plan. We think we have heard from Him and so we plan and plan. Then one day God steps in and says, “No. That was your plans not mine. Here are my plans for you.” Then He lays them out in front of you.”
There was a group of ladies that wanted to do a Bible Study at the place I volunteer. The plans were to do it on a Monday afternoon for a couple of hours. Several things have happened to cause that not to happen. One lady moved away to take a job, another lady’s daughter is fighting cancer and she has to help out, another lady is dealing with some health issues and the reasons go on. So, I am thinking my plans to teach a Bible Study during the summer is gone.
One evening for some reason God laid it on my heart to participate in an online Bible Study. I thought it would be really cool to be involved with some ladies online and study the Bible. I began searching for online Bible Study groups. Nothing seemed to pan out. Every group I went to had already disbanded, already started or it was going to cost several dollars to be a part of a group. I knew my daughter had joined one so I sent her a text to find out about joining her group. She said they had called it quits too. She had found another one but it didn’t last long. She was searching for one too, but couldn’t find one.
God laid it on my heart to pose the question who would be interested in an online Bible Study. I did that and received several responses. Some of those who responded took me by surprise. I wasn’t expecting some of them to respond. There are others I am still waiting to hear from. The excitement began to rise in me.
I had a book here at home a friend gave me and I had been hoping to use it in a Bible Study. The book is on Philippians; one of my favorite books of the Bible. As I shared with my daughter we agreed to start an online Bible Study. We had to have a name for our group. We kicked around several ideas, but none of them sounded great. My daughter came up with, “In the Palm of His Hands.” God let me know that was to be the name of this new group. As I went out my front door I paused and looked at a plaque I had hanging next to my front door. Can you guess the scripture on it? It is a picture of God’s hand reaching out and above the hand it says, “I have written your name on the palms of my hands….” Isaiah 49:16. Not only did God give me the name He showed me the scripture. I put the group together and started posting. Another friend suggested we use the song, “On Eagles Wings” for our song and of course the phrase in the palm of His hands is in that song. Do you think this is all just a coincidence? I do not. I believe God’s hand is in this. I am excited to see what God is about to do in this group. 
Proverbs 16:9 says, “The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.” I think God gives us dreams and plans, but I think we also need to allow God to move in those dreams and plans. Our dreams and plans may look one way to us, but God sees them in a different way. We may get disappointed because our plans aren’t working out the way we thought they would. We have two choices; we can go about working and making things happen or we can just settle back and wait on God to let things happen His way. 
There is a proverbial phrase that says,”When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” My suggestion is when life gives you lemons hand them over to God and allow Him to make the lemonade. It will be much sweeter and less hassle.
This is only April and twice this year already God has taken my plans and reworked them for His benefit. Will I stop making plans? No, but I will never hold on so tight to my plans that God can’t work through me to accomplish those things He wants me to do His way.
Are you disappointed your plans aren’t working out? Have your dreams not turned out like you thought they would? Are you hanging on to them so tight God can’t work? Maybe God wants to take those dreams and those plans and tweak them a bit. Maybe, just maybe He’s got something bigger and better in mind. 
Dear God: I know you still want me to make plans and dreams, but I also know you don’t want me to hold on so tight you can’t tweak them a bit. I must not be afraid of letting you tweak them; I must anticipate lemonade when I have lemons in my hand. Help me to let go and let you be in charge of those plans and dreams knowing you know what’s best for me and those around me. Amen  
Leave a Reply

