Green – A Time to Move Forward I Corinthians 13:11

Standard
Well, March is a month for green and we see a lot of it during this month. St. Patrick’s Day is March 17 and you can bet we will see a lot of green then; we also see a lot of shamrocks in March. After looking up some history on St. Patrick’s Day I found out the legend of the shamrock is a true Irish tale, which tells how Patrick used the three-leafed shamrock to explain the Trinity during his ministry. He used it in his sermons to represent how the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit could all exist as separate elements of the same body.
For me, green is significant, and I enjoy seeing green in March. After a long winter it is refreshing to see it. For me, green means growth. Green means a time to move forward. The stoplights are red and green. Green tells us it’s time to move forward. We have had a period to stop — now it’s time to move on. 
Winter is like that for me. Sometimes I stop growing in the winter. Spring and green remind me to move forward. When it gets cold, I just want to stop and stay in. I have to force myself to leave the comfort of my home and go out. When spring comes, I am ready to move out and move forward. I am ready to feel the warmth of the sun and have it shining in my eyes. 
That’s the way it is with our faith sometimes. We get to the point where we are content with where we are in our faith. We do not want to read the Bible or any other religious book; it’s hard for us to go to church, and praying is out of our mind for the present time. We use our down time to do other things or maybe to do nothing. We just stop for a period. Others may try to encourage us, but we just want our down time. 
Down time is not really bad; we all need a little. What is bad about down time is the length of time we stay down. We must have a time when we move forward. Something or someone must tell us it’s time to move on. When that time comes we must do just that: move on. If we don’t move on, then we are stuck and it takes a little more to pull us out. We must realize that if we move forward it helps us look at life in a different, fresher manner. We have more energy to get things done. Our mind is refreshed and ready to take in more knowledge of God’s ways and His teachings. When we move forward we are ready to serve God and others. We all have had to move on as human beings — not one of us decided to stay tots all of our life! We moved on to the next stage. When we got to be teenagers we moved on and became adults. Our life is constantly about moving on; so our faith should. Just as we were not satisfied staying children or teenagers, we should not be satisfied with staying where we are in our faith. We had exciting times waiting for us when we moved from tots to teenagers and from teenagers to adults. Those same exciting times can be found each time we move forward in our faith. Just as we were challenged in each step of our lives, we will be challenged as we grow in faith. Our parents were always there encouraging us to move forward, helping us along the way. That is the same way it is with our Father in Heaven, He will be there encouraging us and helping us along the way. We must first be willing to move forward. We must look at the green and know it’s time to move forward, to move ahead. 
In I Corinthians 13:11 it says, “When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things.” We put those things away and moved on. 
When I see green, I get excited knowing it’s time to get out and get on the move! I know I am in for some exciting times, as well as some challenging times. I know just as I could trust my parents I can trust my Heavenly Father to help me along the way. Where are you in your faith? Have you stopped at the red light and can’t get moving? Have you been stopped for a lot longer than just a season? Do you need someone to come and start pulling you in the forward direction? It’s not healthy for us to just stop. We know if we stop challenging our minds at any age we lose the ability to learn new things. It gets harder for us to move forward. This isn’t what God wants for us. He wants us, whether we are two or ninety-two, to keep moving forward. This March as you see green, let it remind you that it’s time to move forward. It’s time to grow, not only in the knowledge of Christ, but also in serving Him. Come along with me this March and let’s move forward together. 
“This will continue until we all come to such unity in our faith and knowledge of God’s Son that we will be mature in the Lord, measuring up to the full and complete standard of Christ.”
 Ephesians 4:13
Prayer: Dear Lord, thank you for spring and newness of life. As we look at your creation, we see green all around us in the spring. Remind us it’s a time to move forward and grow in your knowledge and move toward a deeper relationship with you. We ask you to give us a push if we are stuck at a red light. We thank you for life. Guide us as we move forward in you. Amen.
Leave a Reply

