I Am Done!

Standard

This is my third day to be stuck in the house because of sleet and snow and here in Texas that is more of the unusual than the usual winter happenings. I thank God I have been stuck in the house for these three days. God has answered my prayers after years and years of searching.

The answer has come in the form of two books and God hitting me over the head lots of time, but today I finally got it. The two books are, “Discerning the Voice of God” by Priscilla Shirer and “Finding God in a Bag of Groceries” by Laura Lapins Willis. The book by Priscilla I am doing in a Bible Study with a great bunch of ladies. The other book I am reading so I may do a book review during our Spiritual Day Apart for United Methodist Women. When I saw the book listed I was drawn to it. It was one of those things that I know now God was leading me to. I brought the book home hoping it was as good as the description on the back of the cover. It’s wasn’t just good it was answered prayer.

For years and years I have struggled with doing God’s will; not so much doing God’s will as knowing what it is I am supposed to be doing. I have wanted to know what His will is for my life. What is it I am supposed to be doing? Is it Mission work? Is it Evangelism work? Speaking, writing and the various other things I do? What is it He’s calling me to do? Where am I supposed to be? All of these questions and many more have bothered me over the course of my life. I now have the answer!

It began in a paragraph that Priscilla wrote in her book, the paragraph is found on page 42, it is day 5 of week 2 and it says this, “I trust that it is His responsibility to show me what He wants me to do and how to do it by speaking through the Holy Spirit and the Word of God. As I seek Him, stay in His word, and continue to keep an intimate relationship with Him by confessing my sin, He transforms my mind and emotions to align with His plans.” The questions she asks each of us after this is, “What is the difference between seeking God’s will and seeking Him?” My response was, “doing is seeking His will, having a relationship is seeking Him.” God was beginning to give me the answer.

It’s not about seeking God’s will for my life in, but having a relationship with Him and allowing Him to show me what He wants me to do. It’s about getting my life so in tune with His that I don’t need to seek His will I will just do it as He leads me. The fog was beginning to clear. She wrote on the same page something I will take with me for a long time, “No longer do I frantically search for God’s will; I will frantically search for God.” That’s it in a nutshell; I don’t need to search for God’s will I will search for God and be so in tune with Him that He will let me know what it is I am supposed to do. Wow!

God knew it would take more than this for it to really sink in. So, he shared it again with me in the second book. In Chapter 2 she is struggling with the issue of Priesthood. She is trying to figure out if she should be ordained or not. One of her friends responded with this answer found on page 32 of Chapter 2 she writes, “Just listen, “she said. “ Be still and listen to God. Listen to what your heart tells you. There is no wrong or right answer. Live a life of love and service. That’s what God asks us to do. There are many different ways to do it.” On page 33 she goes on to say this, “Yet God endowed me with the power to love, no matter what my job title was or where I lived or what background I had. Jesus gave me the opportunity to minister to and care for others, in many ways beyond the opportunities I would have had if I’d been ordained by the church. I was already ordained by God at my baptism. I was already a part of God’s priesthood of believers.” And finally she says on page 71, “We share God’s love in a way that is familiar and accessible. Dramatic as it may sound, we are living out our vocation, Christ in us.” Now I am only in Chapter 4 I can’t wait to see what the rest of the book says to me.

As I finished this Chapter this morning I was awe struck. The answers I have been looking for God has shown me all along, I being bull headed just needed to hear it for the thousandth time. I got it this morning. Somewhere along those same lines someone said to me, “just do what God puts in front of you each day and don’t worry about searching for His will.” As I sat in silence for a few minutes, God posed this question, “Was Moses searching for my will when I showed up and lit up the burning bush?” No. Moses wasn’t searching for God. God showed Moses what He was to be doing.

Just like Moses I don’t need to search to know God’s will in my life. Instead I need to search for God, have a relationship with Him, stay in His word, repent and let God bring the burning bush to me. I realize searching is not what God wants us to be about. Just like Laura said it’s about loving God and others, being in service, and doing those things that God brings to us each day, week, or month or year. It’s not about searching for His will it’s about searching for God.

The search is over. Just like the rescuers are exuberant over finding a lost child in the woods, I too am exuberant. The long awaited answer has been found and I am at peace. Way to go God. Thank you for bringing these ladies and their books into my life.

Have you been searching for God’s will in your live? Search no more instead do those things He’s put in front of you, concentrate on finding God and love others as He has showed His love toward us. God will bring the burning bush to us; we don’t need to search for a burning bush. Moses didn’t and neither do we.

Dear God: I know for many years you have tried to teach me this, yet I didn’t get it. The snow and sleet falls just at the right time and I spend time in books you have led me to just so I can finally get it. I will concentrate more on my relationship with you and less on finding your will for my life. If there is a burning bush you want me to experience you will bring it to me. I don’t need to spend my time searching for it. This is such a simple concept yet it took me years to get. Thank you for helping me get it and for the peace I will experience the rest of my days. Thank you for ladies who share your word with us and their willingness to share with us what you have taught them. May I be a beacon for someone along the way. Amen.

Leave a Reply

