​When God Speaks Are We Listening?

Standard
As some of you know I volunteer at a place called Harvest House. We help our clients with food, clothing and help with utilities when money is available. We are often blessed as we pray and share God with them. Last year many of us who volunteered noticed it was the Client Advisors that was mostly doing the praying and sharing. This year some of our clients have taken on the role of praying and sharing with us. Already this year I have been blessed beyond measure and it’s only February. 
One of our clients has blessed me and reminded me of a few things recently. I would like to share with you her words in the following paragraph.
Given permission by Clarice
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11. A friend of mine has this scripture recorded as his voice mail message. I made a visit to Harvest House and read the scripture inscribed on the wall of the clothing “Storehouse.” I attended a seminar and again read the scripture inscribed on a wall. During a funeral a friend of the family quoted the same scripture. During another visit to Harvest House, I observed one of the counselors (Becky) had the same scripture on her Bible cover lying on her desk. The counselor prayed with me and gave me a small token – a 2” tall plastic green frog. She also gave me a card that read “FROG”. “Fully rely on God.” I was in tears because I have a collection of ceramic frogs. It was the last day of the month and January was about to end, when I received another message from God. When I arrived home, I had a package on my doorstep. My sister-in-law (who lives in Las Vegas) had sent a very belated Christmas present. When I opened the box, it contained a ceramic decorative frog and a jeweled frog pendant necklace. She buys me frogs from time to time to add to my collection. Each situation was a different experience for me, but affirmation and confirmation that God is always present and speaking to me. Whatever the season may be, I have to keep the mindset of fully relying on God and that He has plans for me. Living life brings about changes, challenges and barriers, which may seem to get the best of you. When things happen are we relying on God’s word and His promises? When God speaks are we listening?”
What a testimony to faith she has. This young lady has been laid off from her previous job and is seeking answers to where God wants her to be. I have reassured her God has great plans for her.
As I was thinking about this I kept wondering if there was a text that I am over looking. Is God speaking to me and I’m not listening. Of course, God showed me quickly and without delay. 
In the past year I have been given insights into what I thought God was calling me to do. In the first area I was asked to take on a position. I struggled much with that decision and while down on my back (with shingles) looking up I decided to take the position on. Not because I wanted to, but because God was calling me to it. 
In order for me to take on this position I am waiting on others to get things in place so this position can happen. It has become a slow process and has not happened in my time frame. For those who know me when I say yes to something I want it to happen yesterday. I get energized and I am so ready to move on it, not thinking about God’s agenda, just how I am ready to jump on it. A few weeks ago I became discouraged because it wasn’t happening as fast as I wanted to. My prayer went something like, “God you know I am ready let’s get the ball rolling. You have challenged me to take this and after much struggle I said yes. Now I am ready let’s go.” Of course I didn’t get much of a response.  
The second circumstance was a position I thought God was leading me to in the United Methodist Women’s organization. I am on the District level and this would be a Conference level. That opportunity has since left my hands and is no longer available. So, now I was confused. Did I hear God correctly or has things changed? Another frustration for me; am I not listening correctly, has things changed, am I making all this up?
As I shared with my prayer group one of my friends reminded me we are starting a study called, “Discerning the Voice of God.” One of the first scriptures the author uses is found in Habakkuk 2: 2-3, “…This vision-message is a witness pointing to what’s coming. It aches for the coming—it can hardly wait! And it doesn’t lie. If it seems slow in coming, wait. It’s on its way. It will come right on time.” My friend pointed out that our timing isn’t necessarily God’s timing and we need to wait. She also pointed out that maybe everything wasn’t in place yet. 
I went home read the scripture and was somewhat satisfied. Over the course of the next few days that scripture has popped up several times in different ways. This morning as I read one of my morning devotions it was there. God is telling me to wait. It’s on its way. It will come right on time. Now as I think about the first position I am more at peace. I am ready to wait upon the Lord. It will happen when everything is in place, when people’s hearts are ready and in God’s time. In the meantime I need to prepare myself for something really special.
The second position I have realized God knows me much better than I do and this may not be the position I am capable of doing. This may be something that will happen in the future or maybe God has changed His plans. I am no longer worried about what will happen. God knows me better than I. He knows where He wants me. Maybe my season in UMW has come to a close, maybe a new door will open. Only God knows the plans for me. 
All I know is thanks to Clarice I am reminded I must fully rely on God, He knows the plans He has for me and I must wait upon God and His timing. When God speaks am I listening or am I hearing what I want to hear? 
Now I am enjoying the peace I once had and I know when the time comes God will move the waters and I will move ahead and do what He’s called me to do. 
Are you listening for God? Has He called you to do something, but it isn’t happening? Then maybe like me you need to read Habakkuk 2 and wait patiently. If God says it will happen it will happen. It will come right on time.
Dear God: Thank you for sending clients our way that speak to us and share their message. Thank you for the reminders Clarice gave me. Thank you for the peace that I have in all things. I know the plans you have for me and they will happen in your time not mine. I must be patient and use this time to prepare myself for the work you have for me. And when all is right you will spread the waters and tell me it’s time to move. Thank you Jesus. Amen
Leave a Reply

