The Workplace

Standard
So we have spent the first few weeks talking about the New Year. I have shared some ideas with you. I thought I was done, but God wants me to take it one more step. 
The question God brought to my mind earlier today was who am I going to work for this year? I don’t really work, but I volunteer and do all kinds of things. I have worked in the past and enjoyed working for Pastors and church members as their church secretary. 
I have always worked hard to please whomever I am working with at the time. I really can’t say I am a people pleaser, but I do like to please people. I want them to be happy with the work I do with them or for them. If I take something on I take it on whole heartily doing the best I can.
Colossians 3:23 came to my mind this morning, “whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance. It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.…” 
God reminded me this morning that I should work to please God not man. It’s not about getting praise from man for the work that I do, but pleasing the Lord. If everything I do I do it as if I am serving the Lord my work load will be light and enjoyable. 
Ephesians 6:7 says this, “Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.”
Whether we volunteer or we work at a job there will be days we are tired, we don’t like the work we do and maybe we don’t like the people we work for or with. There are some men and women I know who don’t like their work, but it’s a job and they fear they will not find one if they quit. So they keep working making themselves miserable and everyone around them. 
What if we start with a better attitude this year? What if we think about working for the Lord? What if we serve God in our place of work and not our fellowman? If we work to please God in our work place then we are bound to please those around us. They will begin to see a difference in us. They will begin to see the enthusiasm we have for our work. They will see a difference in us. 
By having the attitude of serving the Lord in our workplace we could be influencing the lives of others. We all know that when we work with others we are watched and judged. When we do something good or bad it has a ripple effect throughout our jobs. Recently, we added a new system where I volunteer. Everything is done on the computer. In order to do it right there are several steps to follow. If you know what you are doing and follow the steps it’s not hard. We were all learning together. After a couple of times I thought I knew it well enough I didn’t have to follow the steps on the paper. At the end of the first day our Director came in and looked at my work. Pulling up my work and us going over it together I realized I had skipped a step and made some mistakes…minor ones, but mistakes. Together we sat down and went back through and corrected all the mistakes I made. It took an hour or so to do it, but we got it done. I knew where I had failed. I had failed by not following through. I could easily have become disgruntled with the Director. I could have made the situation a lot worse than I did. First, I realize I had made the mistake not her. Second, I realized it was my fault not hers. If I had followed the steps like I was supposed to do I wouldn’t have made the mistakes. But with the right attitude this time I corrected my mistakes and we both learned a good lesson. She was patient and kind with me and I understood how not to make the same mistakes the next time.
If we look at those we work with as if they are the Lord Himself then would we treat others differently? Would we have a more serving and loving attitude toward them? 
We all have bad days and I know it’s not easy to love and serve everyone everyday all year long, but maybe if we start working on it early this year we might just surprise ourselves and those around us by the end of the year. We will never be perfect; we live in the world and we live with people who can be impossible at times, but if we want to follow Jesus’ example then we will begin with a servant’s heart and a servant’s attitude. 
As we head out each day maybe we should seek God first and ask Him to help us as we develop a servant’s heart. Just being in God’s presence as we start our day out might help us do the work we are called to do as if we were doing it for the Lord. 
The question then comes back to us. Who will you work for this year? Will you work to please man or God? Will you work with a servant’s heart and attitude?
Dear God: Thank you for the jobs you have called me to do. Help me to do each job with a servant’s heart and attitude. Help me to see those I work with through your eyes. When there is misery help me to sow joy. When there is stress help me to sow peace. Where there is hatred let me sow love. Thank you for setting the perfect example of servant hood. Amen
Leave a Reply

