Danger Ahead….Baby Jesus

Standard
I have mentioned before I am in the middle of an Advent study. The authors are assigning words to Jesus to explain Him. The word for last week was dangerous. They asked the question do we see the Baby Jesus as dangerous.

They went on with their discussion on Baby Jesus being dangerous. When I first opened the chapter to read I didn’t think about a baby being dangerous and especially this one. As I read I understood where the authors were coming from.

I then began to look at my relationship with God. I have to admit having a relationship with Baby Jesus can be very dangerous. One of the first things I have thought about is my comfort zone. If you have followed me for any length of time or you know me then you know I like my comfort zone. I do not like to step out of my comfort zone. It’s not a place I want to be. That’s the way it is with most of us. We like the comfortable and not the uncomfortable. The first time God challenged me on my comfort zone was when He asked me to pick up the book, “If You Want to Walk on Water, You Got to Get out of Your Boat” by John Ortberg. The book is all about getting out of your comfort zone. He explains Jesus was not safely put in the boat. He was outside walking on the water. He calls us to step out of the comfortable boat and walk on water with Him; that, my friend is a dangerous act. Since then I have allowed God to move me outside the comfortable boat and walk on water. I, like Peter have done just fine until I opened my eyes to the circumstances around me and like Peter Jesus has caught me and kept me from drowning. Matthew 14:29-33, “Come,” he said. Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward Jesus. But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. “You of little faith,” he said, “why did you doubt?”And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down. Then those who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.” I was moved to go to Jamaica on a Missions trip. They suddenly decided to have elections while we were there. To see guards standing at the entrance to voting places with armed guns (big guns) is not a comfortable setting. We were told to stay strictly in the compound and do not leave the area…dangerous.

Another area I often find myself in that is dangerous for me is loving people who God has put in my path. He clearly states in Mark 12:31, “The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.” That includes those people who say unkind things towards me, those who treat me badly, and those who I am afraid to love, because they have hurt me before. Hebrews 13:2 is closely related to this, “Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by so doing some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it.” In the line of volunteering I do this is so important. I have to show love and hospitality to everyone who comes to me even those I am not sure deserves my help or love.

Jesus is dangerous to me because He calls me to do things I don’t want to do. Again if you know me you know I don’t like public speaking. Jesus has called me into public speaking. He has called me into doing the thing I detest. Why? So, I can know how to fully rely on Him during those times. I go not in my own presence speaking on my own, but I go in His Presence depending on Him to not only give me the message, but deliver it too. Without Him going with me I wouldn’t do it.
He has called me into being a Facilitator for a Ministry Council. This will involve different denominations, folks I don’t know and haven’t met yet. God has once again called me to get out of the boat and walk to Him; only focusing on Him and not my surroundings.

So yes for me Jesus is dangerous. Then I look to the Bible and realize I am not alone. Moses was called to go to Egypt and bring out the Israelites, but he had to face Pharaoh; a dangerous act. Daniel was thrown into the lion’s den; now tell me that is not dangerous. Paul was put into prison for beliefs. I am thinking prison can be scary and even a dangerous place. The Disciples was with Christ when He was arrested; that must have been a dangerous situation. I could go on with a long list of people in the Bible that God has called into dangerous situations. They all have stories to tell.

God has reminded me about their stories. How many people can I name from the Bible that lived comfortable, quiet lives and made an impact for Christ? There might be a few, but I can only recall those who lived their lives dangerously for God.
Having a relationship with God is a dangerous act, but as I look back on those times that God has called me to do those things I think were dangerous I have made it through; not because of anything I did, but because of what God did.

We can live quiet comfortable lives and be quite content or we can accept what God calls us to do no matter how dangerous, and step out and move forward knowing God is with us all the way.

For me dangerous translates, “God is calling you to go do; go do knowing God is with you.”
How does the word dangerous fit into your idea of a baby coming at Christmas?

Dear God: Thank you for those dangerous times in my life where I can only depend on you to get me through. I have been afraid, but You have gotten me through some dangerous times. Help me when I get comfortable to move out of my comfort zone and do those things You are calling me to do knowing I can fully rely on You at all times. Amen.
Leave a Reply

