Into The Frying Pan

Standard
The weather has been something here lately. It was warm all summer long and then we hit a really cold snap. It was really cold for several days; now it’s to turn off cold again soon. I love the warm weather because I am cold natured. I know the cold weather is to kill off germs and the such; I know God likes us to have different seasons so we can see His handiwork so I am all for it. I just don’t like the back and forth; warm and then cold. Warm and then cold; you just don’t know how to dress and how is a woman to get her wardrobe straightened out? Do I move my summer clothes and put in winter clothes? Do I leave my summer clothes in and wait for a while longer before I change? What is a woman to do? I know my men friends are rolling their eyes and laughing. 
Once again I was asking God to give me a blog for today and He never lets me down. As I was thinking about the cold weather changes and how I hate it He reminded me He hates our cold and hot changes as well. He reminded me of these scriptures, “To the angel of the church in Laodicea write: these are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God’s creation. I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.” (Revelation 3:14-17) I know these words were written to the church at Laodicea, but when I read words from the Bible I often think they are for me as well. 
These are some powerful words. How many times have I been on fire for the Lord and done all’s He’s asked me to do, walked the path with Him and then turned off the path and became lukewarm for Him or even cold? There have been times I have done just that. I have witnessed to others, wrote blogs, prayed to Him and followed His ways. Something happens and I get discouraged, depressed, or tired or not feeling good and I think what am I doing. I am one who has to be careful about not getting over involved when I do I get tired and yes, if you can believe it irritable. Those are the times I find myself getting lukewarm and even cold. I find I am so busy I have no time to pray, read the Bible and witnessing to others is a big turn off. I am cold, not even lukewarm. 
God doesn’t want us to be lukewarm. He wants us to be hot, but there are some who may never be hot, just lukewarm. For those He’s saying, I don’t even want you to be lukewarm, be one way or the other. He goes on to say He will spit us out of His mouth if we are lukewarm. I had a friend who likes cold gravy. Now that sounds disgusting to me. I am pretty sure if I tried to down cold gravy it would probably come out of my mouth as fast as it went in. That is not a pretty sight and having God spit you out of His mouth is not a pretty sight either. 
We are called to be cold or hot not lukewarm. I am calling you not to even think about being cold, but to be hot. Being cold is being in the absence of heat, light and all those warm feelings that come from within when you step outside into the sunlight. I think that is why I don’t like winters so much. A lot of the days are sunless; they are cold and can be dreary. I love the first day of Spring when you can step outside and feel the warmth of the sun on your skin and you can see the sunlight flowing down on you. Can you imagine being sunless for the rest of eternity? Being cold and out of the eyes of God? That’s what will happen when we turn from God and remain cold.
I like being lukewarm; that is comfortable. When you are lukewarm you aren’t too hot and you aren’t too cold; you are just comfortable. That’s where I want to be, but God doesn’t call us to be lukewarm. We aren’t always to be comfortable with our faith. He calls us to stretch and grow and get out of our comfort zone and get in the frying pan for Him; or like the three men in the furnace. 
I am learning being cold is not where I want to be and I don’t like being cold. Lukewarm is where I like it, but God isn’t calling me to be lukewarm. I like the heat and that’s exactly where God wants me to be in the thick of things where it can get really warm. I have to adjust my thinking and my ways so I can stay in the heat and not cool off. It’s hard; it’s not easy, but it will be worth it one of these days. 
So are you standing in the lukewarm area? Are you cold and want to feel some warmth in your life? Or are you in the heat of things? God is calling us to be one way or the other; not lukewarm. It’s for us to decide where we want to be. 
Dear God, I don’t like winter although I know it’s necessary. There are some beautiful snow scenes You give us and the cold does some really good things. I think now it will be a reminder for me. It will be a reminder that’s not where I want to live out my eternity; in the cold, dark places without sunlight or Sonlight. I want to be warm and not just lukewarm. When the hot weather hits again remind me of this passage and how You want me to be hot and on fire for you. Thank you for teaching me these things in my life. You are always awesome. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

