Balloons in My Brain

Standard
I just love it when God gives me words of wisdom at the right time. I was concerned about some things that were happening in our lives. Ok, Greg would tell you I was worried. I fully rely on God for the most part, but then the devil comes in and for a few days I lose it. When God sees this He comes to me by words of friends, scripture or devotion and then I am right back on track.
This time it was in the devotion I read daily. This is from, “Jesus Calling, Enjoying Peace In His Presence” written by Sarah Young and found on page 328 and the day was November 9:
“Sit quietly with me, letting all your fears and worries
 bubble up to the surface of your consciousness. 
There, in the Light of My Presence, the bubbles pop and disappear.”
Wow! That was what I needed to hear. God also gives me visions once in awhile to see things more clearly. As I sat there and reflected I saw balloons pop into my head with what I was worried about written on the inside of each balloon. Next I saw a hand with a pin in it and it was popping the balloons. I knew this is what God was guiding me to do each time I started worrying. I was to name the thing I was worried about, put it in a balloon in my head and then take a pin and say, “Nope, not worrying about it. I give it over to God and I am popping the balloon and not worrying about it anymore.” That was an awesome day. I read this on Sunday.
On Monday I was hopeful I could do this on my own. A worry started to enter my head. I pictured a balloon with the new worry. I, in my vivid imagination saw the balloon, I visually took a pin and popped the balloon and said, “God’s got this.” I visually saw myself popping the balloon. Afterward I said a breath prayer. Worry gone. I felt so much better. I felt stronger and I felt blessed knowing I have someone I can give my worries to. No longer do I need to fret over something I just pop balloons in my head. 
I can’t tell you how many balloons I have popped since then. It’s been a really good thing. Did I think of this on my own? No. Did Sarah Young? She might have written the words, but I am convinced God gave them to her. I am also convinced God knew one day I would be reading this book and come across this and I would need it. You know what the amazing thing is? I have read this book for at least two or three years and I didn’t pick up on this. Why? I wasn’t prepared for the message or at the time I didn’t need it, but when I did it was there. 
Philippians 4:6-7 says this, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” I have had more peace since I have been doing this. Now will it continue for a lifetime? I hope so, but I know I am human and after a while maybe popping balloons won’t work, but I hope it does. 
The devotion goes on to say (I am sure this was written for me) that I have a tendency to fear the future. It says (which is so true of me) I project myself mentally into the next day, week, month, year and I worry about those worries I don’t even know exist yet. The devotion goes on to say I don’t see God in those times (next day, week, etc.). I know God will never give up on me and I won’t give up on God, but it’s true I don’t picture Him in my next day, week, month or year even though I know He’ll be there I don’t picture Him in when I worry about the future. So my next strategic planning is to live in the moment and not worry about the next minute, hour, or day. Joshua 1:9 reminds us, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” That includes into the future with us. 
The last paragraph of this devotion is, “When a future-oriented (or in my case any worry) worry assails you, capture it and disarm it by suffusing (meaning flooding) the Light of My Presence into that mental image. Say to yourself, “Jesus be with me then and there. With His help, I can cope!” Then, come home to the present moment, where you can enjoy peace in My Presence.” 
So our plan (God’s and mine because I can’t do this alone) is to name the worry, write it on a balloon, say a breath prayer and then pop it saying, “It’s popped, no longer a worry, God’s got this” and then watch the balloon deflate and fall away. I know because I know God the peace of God will come back and I will live each minute to the fullest knowing I have disarmed the worry. 
It’s so funny now along with everything else I have in my head I have balloons in my head ready to be named and popped. I bet any psychiatrist would love to get in my head….well; maybe not it might be frightening. This to me is just one more war tactic God has given me to live successfully for Him. 
This isn’t my thing. God gave it to me and I am sharing it with you. Maybe it will help you to worry less, be stronger in fighting off those fears and living a more peaceful life in Christ. If God gave it to me I am sure He knows others need it too and I am all about helping others grow stronger in their faith, defeating those things that keep us living a life of peace and learning to live in the present joyfully. 
What balloons do you need to pop right now? Go ahead name it, and then say a breath prayer, then watch as your balloon is being popped all the time having assurance God has taken care of it. Feel more at peace? Isn’t God good?
Dear God, thank you for authors that come my way and give me words you share with them to give to me. You know when I need something and you give it to me just at the right time. Thank you also for the visions you plant in my head that make these words come alive. When a worry begins to bring me down remind me to name them, pray about it and then stand back and watch it being popped. Remind me of the peace and joy that will come my way when I give you complete trust and fully rely on You every day. Amen.
Leave a Reply

