When You Find Yourself

Standard
When you find yourself in the position to help someone, be happy and feel
 blessed because God is answering that person’s prayer through you.
 Remember: Our purpose on earth is not to get lost in the dark 
but to be a light to others, so that they may find their way through us.
Have you ever thought about being an answered prayer? Have you ever thought about someone praying for an answer and it was you? I honestly hadn’t thought about that. 
At the place I volunteer we try to help with utility bills. We only have so much money and  it doesn’t go a long way. We give our money out on Tuesdays and by noon it is all gone. This is only after being open two hours. Recently a mother came in and sat at my desk. She was distraught. The story goes she had come in for her daughter and son-in-law. They needed help with a utility bill. The daughter was going to school so she could get a job to help her husband. The husband worked at a car dealership that had just changed their commissions and he wasn’t getting paid as much and they were struggling. The parents were trying to help as much as they could, but wasn’t able to help much. We had just ran out of money. I had to tell this woman we had no money. She was distraught. I was distraught. One of my co-workers was going past the office manager’s door when the office manager told my co-worker we had more money to help pay bills. The co-worker almost ran to where I was and told me we had more money to help with utility bills. The woman hadn’t left yet and we were able to help her young daughter and son-in-law. I asked her if she realized she had just witnessed a miracle. She said she had. She was crying and I was crying. She had told me they had prayed and prayed the night before praying we could help. We were her answered prayer. God listened and worked out a way for us to help with her bill. We were both ecstatic. Just like the saying I was happy and felt blessed we had the funds to help her. 
When you feel called to help out no matter how it may be just remember someone may have been praying for some help and just maybe God has put it on your heart to help out. It doesn’t always have to be monetary help. It could be helping take someone to the Doctors or a visit in the hospital, or taking a meal or maybe just a phone call to someone who is lonely. You never know you may be the answer to their prayers. 
I am reminded of this scripture: “What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.” James 2:14-17 
“In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ “Acts 20:35.
We are called as Christians to help one another and be their answered prayer. You never know when you will be praying for someone to come along and help you. 
Remember: Our purpose on earth is not to get lost in the dark but to be a light to others, so that they may find their way through us.
Have you ever thought about your purpose here on earth is not to get lost? When I was a small child we were in Dayton Ohio at a big department store where my aunt worked. It was the Christmas season and we had gone downtown to see the animation in the windows and visit my aunt. We had to take an elevator to one of the upper floors. I was with my parents. I remember getting off the elevator and losing my parents for a brief time. That was scary. That was not my purpose in visiting the store, but it happened. Thank goodness it was not in the dark. 
If we are Christians and we have the light of Christ in us then it is our duty to stay on task and keep our light shinning so we can help others who are in the dark. “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.” Matthew 5:14-15
If you have ever been in a cave when they have turned out the lights you know how dark and scary that can be. Then someone lights a flashlight and the light begins to shine and you feel less frightened. I believe our purpose here on earth is not only to keep from getting lost in the dark, but also to help those who are still lost in the dark. We are to share out light with others so they may find their way. 
At one time we were lost and someone came and shared their light with us. We came out of the darkness into the light. You remember that feeling don’t you when you first experienced the light of Christ? The Holiday season will soon be upon us. Let us share the light of Christ with those who are wondering around in the dark. Let’s bring them out of the darkness and share the true source of light with them. 
Yes it is better to give than to receive. It’s also fun to share your light with those in the darkness and to see a glow on their face. 
When you find yourself in the position to help someone, be happy and feel blessed because God is answering that person’s prayer through you. Remember: Our purpose on earth is not to get lost in the dark but to be a light to others, so that they may find their way through us. 
I think as we head into the Holidays this is something we should take with us. When we get the feeling we should help…you just might be the answer to someone’s prayer. When we plug in our Christmas lights or light candles around the table at Thanksgiving remember someone might need you to share your light with them. Are you willing?
Dear God: It is right and a good thing to help others when you call me. Remind me I might be the answer to someone’s prayer. I don’t need to always give money; it could be an ear to listen or a smile to cheer, or a shoulder for someone to cry on or words of encouragement. Remind me to remember those who are lost in the dark. Help me to find ways to share my light so others might find their way. Thank you Jesus for those who brought me out of the darkness and for being the answer to my prayers. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

