Hurricanes, Tornadoes, and the Such

Standard
When hurricanes, tornadoes, and mighty winds hit some houses are destroyed while others remain intact. I have seen that so often. You have too and we often wonder why. I get a response like one building is stronger or made different or the tornado takes a turn or some other scientific reasons when I ask why one building is destroyed and another is not.
Once again, as I was thinking about this God led me to some new insight. He led me to question why some people can go through tough times and come out fine while others come through storms, but they may be badly damaged or scarred. This is what He shared with me.
When the storms hit the foundation of the building is already built. Now you might see them adding plywood to the doors and windows before a storm hits. You will see people bracing their house for the storms before a hurricane hits. What you don’t see is them working on the house during the storm. Everyone knows by then it is too late. If you haven’t prepared for the storm before the storm hits it’s just too bad. Now I know not all of them, but many of them will stand the test of a storm because their owner has prepared for the storm that is going to hit. 
God brought to mind this scripture, “Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.” Matthew 7:24-27
God was showing me we have to prepare ourselves for whatever is ahead of us. None of us knows our future or what is around the corner. That is why it’s so important to ground yourself in Christ and His word so that when the storms of life hit you will be prepared. While you are going through the storms of life that is not a time to prepare, but it is a time to pray and trust in God that He will get you through those tough times. 
Now even if we have ourselves prepared for the storms there is still a chance we will come out a little damaged. I believe every house has some damage to it when the really big storms hit. You might have to do repair work on the roof, or repair cracked windows or whatever. When our storms hit and we come through it we might just see where we need a little work. Maybe we need to work on trusting God more. Maybe our prayer life isn’t as it should be. Maybe we realize we don’t know scripture like we should. If that is the case then we need to get busy and start the repair work before the next storm hits. 
God also brought to mind those houses that are built really well, but they are sitting on the edge of a cliff and a mud slide hits and the house is destroyed. We may have the appearance of a great faith and to others it may look strong. We may think we can stand the test of any storm, but then the mud slide hits and  we realize no matter how great or how strong the house is if we have not built our house on a firm foundation we will still be in danger of losing it all. 2 Timothy 2:19 says this, “Nevertheless, God’s solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: “The Lord knows those who are his,” and, “Everyone who confesses the name of the Lord must turn away from wickedness.” If we are going to build a faith that is strong and will stand the test of time and the storms of life, then we need to build it on Christ and Christ alone. 
As I am writing this it is getting dark and the storm clouds are gathering. The wind has picked up. I am being challenged to think about whether I am prepared for the storms, not only physically in my house, but also in my faith. I would like to think I am prepared, but only God knows that. I’ll know when the next storm hits and when I am through them I will evaluate the damage and see what repairs need to be made and then prepare myself for the next storm.
Are you one who wants to prepare yourself during the storm or are you preparing yourself now before the next storm? Have you built your house on a strong foundation or are you on the edge of a cliff hoping a mud slide won’t hit? 
Dear Lord: thank you for teaching me in times of peace how to prepare for the storms of life. I know it’s best to be prepared and not try to rush in and prepare at the last minute. Help me as I go through those storms. When I go through them help me to trust in You and in my faith knowing I am prepared for whatever hits me. When I come through those storms help me as I reevaluate my faith and see what damage has been done. Help me to know what repairs to make and how to build a stronger faith in You. Thank you for teaching me to build my foundation on You and not on a worldly cliff where a mud slide could come and take it all away. My foundation is built on You and I know together we will stand strong in the face of storms. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

