​My Nightly Trip Ugh! Acts 9

Standard
​Often times during the night I make my nightly trip to the restroom. My sleep is interrupted and off I go. Sometimes it’s just once other times its two and three times. I often wish I could have one night of uninterrupted sleep. My daughter has some young boys that don’t often sleep through the night and she often tells me she’d love some uninterrupted sleep. There are a lot of moms that wish this. A lot of people have interrupted sleep for one reason or another and we all wish for an interrupted sleep.
I am involved in a Bible Study and the book we are studying right now is, “Jonah” by Priscilla Shirer. The second title to this book is “Navigating a Life Interrupted.” Right off the bat she teaches us sometimes our interruption can be divine intervention. I would suggest this study to anyone who has a group study or would like to start a group study. 
She mentions several people in the Bible who had their life interrupted by God. She mentions Noah, Gideon and Cornelius and of course we are studying Jonah who had his life interrupted. I began to think of Ananias. Now he had an interruption. I am sure Ananias was sure this was an interruption on his somewhat peaceful life. Once again just like some of the others Ananias questions God’s calling to go and meet with Paul. He knows Paul has murdered those who are Saints. “Lord,” Ananias answered, “I have heard many reports about this man and all the harm he has done to your holy people in Jerusalem. 14 And he has come here with authority from the chief priests to arrest all who call on your name.” 15 But the Lord said to Ananias, “Go! This man is my chosen instrument to proclaim my name to the Gentiles and their kings and to the people of Israel. 16 I will show him how much he must suffer for my name.” Acts 9 We all know that Ananias is a Godly man and puts his trust in God and follows through with the direction his life is to go. We now know this was a divine intervention. God knew what would happen. Both of these men came to a crossroads where there was an interruption that turned into a divine intervention. 
As I look back on my own life I have to wonder if those interruptions were really divine interventions. I can recall several times I would have to say yes. I am of the belief that God is Omniscient. Because I believe that I know God knew who my girls were to marry. We were living in one county in Indiana and their spouses were living in another county. During the time our girls were growing up we had some interruptions in our lives that caused us to move to the county these young men lived in. They are both wonderful men and fathers. I believe this was a divine interruption. Our lives were suddenly interrupted when my husband’s plant was to close and we had to transfer. This was one interruption neither of us wanted or liked. As I look back now I believe it was divine intervention. There are many more instances I can give you that were divine intervention, but I saw them as interruptions. 
One of the things Priscilla challenges us with is how we look at those interruptions in our lives. She has helped me stop and think about those little interruptions in our lives as well as those big ones. Sometimes those little interruptions can keep us safe and they become divine interventions. We have all heard of stories from 9/1/11 how someone was to be there that morning, but they got interrupted from their daily schedule and missed the tragedy. 
I can think of a time I was interrupted and during that interruption I was able to help someone through a difficult situation. I was recently interrupted with shingles. While suffering from shingles God was showing me I needed to go in a different direction than what I was planning on. 
If we can begin to look at our interruptions as divine interventions maybe we wouldn’t be so stressed out about what is going on. We are driving along the road just fine, then we come to road construction and we are interrupted and have to take a detour. We take that detour and we find that we still end up where we want to be. Greg and I were driving back from Indiana and got all the way to Texas when a friend called and said you need to find a detour. The bridge had an accident that had happened earlier and the road was closed. We took the detour and wow, were we in for a surprise the detour was great. We saw things we would never have seen had we stayed on course. The scenery was great and we really enjoyed our interruption. 
I am learning that when life throws interruptions at me I will begin to think of them as divine interventions. I may not see the divine interventions at the time of the interruptions, but I will be on the lookout for God’s hand in all of my little life interruptions. 
Have you experience interruptions in your life? Can you look back and see them as divine interventions? Are you where you are now because of an interruption? Just like Jonah we can be mad when God calls us and it interrupts the plans we have for ourselves. We can be like Jonah and run the other way as fast and as hard as we can. When we get as far away as we can just like Jonah we will find God is there waiting for us. 
Those little interruptions can be a nuisance or they can be life changing; it’s up to us to decide how we will react to them. Divine interventions….I like that so much better than interruptions, don’t you?
Dear God, there have been so many interruptions in my life, but now I see each interruption was needed for me to be where I am today. You have done some mighty divine interventions on my life. I may not have liked them at the time, but now I see how important each one was. Remind me when once again my life is interrupted to pause and think it could be a divine intervention and something good is just around the corner. Thank you for taking my life and interrupting me so I can do the work you have called me to do. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

