​​Dialogue with God

Standard
Ok, God and I are having this discussion. One evening I went to a program where we had candle lighting at the end of a worship service. We had to use flashlights instead of candles. It was nice, but not as nice as the candles. After that evening God began to show me that He is the Light of the World. I knew that. He also reminded me He lights my life. “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.” Psalm 119:105 He reminded me His light never leaves us. The only way we can get rid of that light is if we choose to. He never takes it from us. He lights our path forever unless we decide to turn it off or blow it out. As I was thinking about this I responded.
Ok, God I agree with you, but a flashlight doesn’t last forever you have to change the batteries or it will die. God told me I was correct, but that’s where Bible Studies, prayer, fellowship with other Christians and church comes in. Those things are our batteries that keep us glowing. As we continue in our Bible Studies, as we continue to pray and have fellowship with others and as we regularly attend church we are recharged. Wow! We are recharged which He so reminded me that is how our light keeps going. Just like batteries we have to recharge them or they will go out. We recharge them by plugging them into an electric source so they can gain power again. That is what we are called to do. We can’t go this life alone or we will run down. We have to be plugged in to a resource so our batteries will always be fully charged. That is why He reminded me church is so important, or reading His word daily is important or prayer time; we need to be plugged into these resources that He provides so His light will never leave us. If our faith dies out then we have not properly recharged our light and we allow it to go out. 
Well, OK I thought. But, what about candles? Got you there. Candles we know are lit and eventually go out. The wax gets melted down till there is nothing left and the light is gone. You are right again He told me. We have to die to selves and begin a new life in Him. That’s the way it is with candles, yes candles die and we go get a new one. We have to die to self and be raised in Him for new life. The new candle we replace is Him and the old candle that is no more is our self that has died and now lives in the new candle.  Romans 6:5-8 says this, “For if we have been united with him in a death like his, we shall certainly be united with him in a resurrection like his. We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin. For one who has died has been set free from sin. 8 Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him.” Now the old candle represents our old selves, but the new candle represents our new life in Christ. That too will eventually go away, but I have found out in this life I have to die to myself more than once and be raised in Christ. Not because it didn’t take, but because I live in the world and there are times I take on the worldly flesh and I sin. 
Oil lamp was the next thing I thought about. It runs out of liquid and I have to fill it up again. He reminded me about the lady at the well and the living water. In John 4 Jesus talks to a Samaritan woman. He asks her to draw from the well so He may have a drink. We all know she asks Him how she can give him a drink. Verse 10 says Jesus responded by saying, “Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.” Jesus simply reminded me His Living water never runs out. If I put my trust in Him I will never grow thirsty again. The Living Water I drink will quench my thirst. If I use this living water for my lamp oil it will never burn out. Wow! I am getting it God. 
Finally, the only thing I could think of was a glow stick. It starts out bright and then it’s gone. There is no way to refill it, it does not require batteries or liquid and yes, you can replace it, but it’s just not the same. God once again reminded me that is how some Christians are. They glow for a little while then they burn out never to be seen again. Is this what you want for your life was what I heard next? I have known people who were on fire for God and I was sure their lives would reflect Christ for years to come and then suddenly they were gone and so was their light. 
I see the light (no pun here ha ha). God has showed me He is the Light that lights my path and it will never go out unless I want it to, don’t recharge myself or don’t depend on Him for the Living Water that quenches my soul. I am not afraid of the dark; I just don’t like it. Now I see what I must do to keep my light shining brightly not only for myself but also for those around me.
Does your batteries need recharged? Is your candle about to burn out? Are you thirsting for something, but can’t grasp what it is? Or are you a glow stick that once was glowing and now is gone? Christ is the answer to all of these. He has given us resources to recharge us, He has shown us it’s all about dying to self and living a new life in Him and it is allowing Him to quench our thirst with the Holy Spirit He gives to us. Maybe you have been a glow stick and are not glowing anymore. God will help you move from a glow stick to a flashlight, candle, or an oil lamp. He’s calling us to keep our lights lit not only for ourselves, but so others may see the Light and know God is real. 
Dear Lord, I get it now. I realize it’s up to me to keep my light shining. You will never extinguish my light. The only way my light will go out is if I let it. Remind me daily to charge my batteries so I will not lose power. Remind me I have died to self and it is in you I have new life and when I am thirsty and can’t quench my thirst remind me it’s the Living Water I seek. I love glow sticks but now I will look at them a little differently. I like the glow they let off, but I also want to keep my light shining for you and others as I travel this journey. If I see others who are a glow stick help me to take the glow stick from them and offer them the kind of light that will keep burning forever. Amen
Leave a Reply

