Fog

Standard
As we were driving to Indiana along the way we got into some really light fog. We didn’t have any trouble seeing. But, as we were driving God gave me some new insights. Let me share.
There have been times when I lived in Indiana I had to drive through thick fog. It was so bad I could hardly see in front of me. I couldn’t tell where I was going. I would have to depend on the taillights on the car in front of me or trust God to get me where I needed to be safely.
That is the way it is with life a lot of times. We have today, but we don’t know what will happen tomorrow. Just like fog we can’t see where we are going. As I drive in fog I know where I want to end up, but I may not be able to see how to get there. When I drive in fog I take the chance of having an accident or getting off course. I may turn down a road by mistake thinking it was another and get lost. Driving in dense fog is never good.
Learning to live in God is a lot like living in fog. I never know what lies ahead of me. I don’t know what the future holds for me because I can’t see into the future. I just have to trust the one that is guiding me. Joshua 1:9 says this, “Have not I commanded you? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be you dismayed: for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.”  If I have truly decided to let God rule my life then I know longer need to be afraid of what lies ahead, even if I can’t see. One of my favorite songs is “Because He Lives.” The chorus goes like this, “Because he lives I can face tomorrow Because he lives All fear is gone Because I know He holds the future And life is worth the living Just because he lives.” I know God will never take me down a path He has not gone before nor will He take me down a path where He will not go with me. 
A few minutes later the sun broke through and the fog was lifted. We could see clearly. God has done that to me as well. For just a few brief minutes He has allowed the sun to shine in my life and let me have a small glimpse of where I am going and what’s ahead. Now you think I would be excited about that, but too many times when I have been able to see where God is leading me it scares me to death. I just as soon not see and trust Him. Most of the time where God is leading me is unknown territory for me. It is usually out of my comfort zone. I realize I have to trust in Him fully if that is where He is taking me. 
So whether God shows me the future or I live in a fog and can’t see it’s all about trusting Him and letting Him guide my path. Proverbs 3:5-5 says it beautifully, “Trust in the LORD with all your heart And do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.…” All I have to do is trust in God and not lean on my own understanding. I could every easy decide to take this journey by myself, but as I encounter the fog I may lose sight of where I want to go, I could get off course, or have a mishap on the way. So instead I chose to acknowledge Him knowing full well He will make my paths straight, I will stay on course and even though there are mishaps along the way, we can handle them (most of the time those mishaps happened or happen because I am leaning on my own understanding and taking the wheel myself). 
When my husband teases me and says something about me living in a fog I realize yes I do and I am thankful I do. I may not know how to get to where I want to go on this journey, but I do know who will be my guide and who I will trust to get me there. How about you? Are you living in a fog?
Dear Lord thank you for being with me on this journey and guiding me. I am so okay with living in the fog. I know if I could see in the future it would scare me. Thank you for giving me those glimpses because it reminds me I need to fully rely on you at all times. Thank you for never leaving me and going on this journey with me. Amen. 
Leave a Reply

