​I’ll Leave the Juggling to God

Standard

​In the late winter early spring I decided I wanted to lose weight. Everywhere I looked I saw skinny bodies and thin women who are my age or older. I decided if they could be skinny so could I. I had a problem with my foot so exercise was out. So, I decided to take all of the sugar out of my diet. I was using artificial sugar, eating no desserts, no candy, strictly meat and vegetables. If it had sugar in it I wasn’t eating it. I began to lose weight. I was doing well. About a month or so I began to feel tired. My mind was not as clear as it should have been and every now and then I was having dizzy spells. I had no energy.

One Monday morning, I got up and was depressed about how I was feeling. I began to reflect on what had changed. Sure I just had a birthday, but you’re only as old as you feel right? I was feeling old. As I went to get a cup of tea and add my artificial sugar I got a nudge from God. He reminded me I had taken out all the sugar from my diet. He reminded me some sugar is good for you. So, I experimented. I put regular sugar back in my tea. In a few short minutes, believe it or not (now it might have been psychological) I began to feel better. I decided for that week I would add sugar back into my diet, start feeling better and then begin to cut back, but not out.

As usual God teaches me things in the common things of life. He reminded me there are just some things that are good for you. I had taken all of the sweetness out of my life. By taking all of the sweetness out of my life I was not thinking clearly, not able to do the things He has called me to do and it was affecting my health. I wasn’t enjoying life. Ecclesiastes 2:24 “There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God…” God tells us here in Ecclesiastes we should find enjoyment in His work. I can’t find enjoyment in His work if I am not feeling well enough. I need to eat healthy and drink properly. I need a healthy balance. My healthy was out of balance.

Here is another scripture that tells us we are to have some fun (and isn’t sugar fun?) Ecclesiastes 8:15, “So I recommend having fun, because there is nothing better for people to do in this world than to eat, drink, and enjoy life. That way they will experience some happiness along with all the hard work God gives them.”


When I decide to do something I do it head on. I believe God has wanted me to focus more on my prayer life. In the last couple of months I have found books on prayer that God has led me to read. I am doing “Experiencing God” in my Sunday School class, I do morning devotions for at least an hour every day plus I am in a mentoring study with a dear friend. All the music I listen to is praise and worship music. I am not bragging, read on and you will see where I am going with this. Because I was doing all of this I was not finding time to do any fun things. I believed because I was tired and run down it had to be because I was studying and growing. So what did I do, I stopped everything. I didn’t read, pray and I barely did my devotions. I began to do some scrapbooking, making some cards and knitting. I basically told God I was done with all those studies, books that He wanted me to read and praying. Now I believe God calls us to study His word, He calls us to keep our focus on Him, and He calls us to grow in our faith. I also believe God calls us to stop and take breaks and have some fun in our lives. I think there is a thing call balancing our lives; which I am not doing. According to the above scriptures we are called to have fun and when we do we will experience happiness along the way with the work God has called us to do. If we don’t balance fun with the things God has called us to do we will not be any good at anything we do.

I can’t ride a bicycle because I can’t balance. Apparently, this goes for the rest of my life. I don’t seem to understand the concept of balancing my life. I am learning that God has called me to get my life in balance so I may experience happiness in all areas of my life. I found this in the Wikipedia, “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy is a proverb. It means that without time off from work, a person becomes both bored and boring.” Not only was I becoming bored, but I was probably boring. I wasn’t able to concentrate on the things I was reading. My volunteer job was not fun anymore. I had decided I wasn’t going to blog as much anymore. As I began to add a period of fun time in my life I began to see I could still have time to pray, read my devotions and do my studies. I just needed to balance my life. As I began the balancing act things started changing starting with my attitude. Then my volunteer job became enjoyable again and in my studies I was beginning to enjoy doing them.

I am sitting here thinking of those people who juggle things. They usually juggle many things. Sometimes things they juggle get dropped and they pick them up and continue juggling. I see my life that way. I am always so busy juggling the things in my life that I sometimes drop things and I don’t often pick them up and go again. What I need to learn to do is let God juggle my life. I know He won’t drop things and I know He knows what to juggle and what isn’t really necessary. I can trust God to help me drop those things in my life that I shouldn’t be juggling and to control those things that need to be juggled.

So for now I am learning to balance my time between my studies, doing my devotions, praying and setting some time aside for some fun. I may not be able to balance a bike but with God’s help I will be able to balance my life.

So how are you at balancing your life? It’s a balance act between enjoying life and serving Christ. You can’t have one without the other. Well, you can, but trust me it’s not much fun. God wants us to be well balanced folks and that includes enjoying life. So bring on the sugar and bring on some fun times; God and I are going to enjoy life to its fullest.

Dear God: somewhere along the way I have forgotten to take some time out for fun. I have been reading, studying and praying so much lately. I know you have called me to slow down and enjoy life a little. There are times I have trouble juggling all the things I have to do and all the things I want to do. Remind me to step out of the picture and let you juggle my life. And along the way if you drop things then I know those things aren’t important and I don’t need to pick them up again. Help me to enjoy my time with family and friends and not feel guilty for taking time away from studying or praying. You are with me always even in the fun times. Thank you for balancing my life. In all these things I pray Amen.

Leave a Reply

