​What Do You Have A Hankering For?

Standard

Several months back one of my neighbors bought a Chevy Camaro. It wasn’t a new one, but it was a nice one. For the last few weeks it has sat in their driveway. They have not driven it much at all. It just sits in the driveway. I thought to myself, “well if I had that car I sure would be driving it.” I am not sure why they bought it or why they haven’t driven it. As I thought about it I noticed I was being critical of them. I am sure if I talked to them I would find out the reason they don’t drive it, and it probably is for good reasons. Maybe it’s an investment.

As I thought about this I began to look at my own life. How many times have I thought I needed something and wasn’t happy until I got it. There have been times I have bought something, brought it home and then barely used it. How could I criticize the actions of another when I have been just as guilty?

I went shopping a while back and was looking for a special top to wear to a wedding. I found one I thought I loved. It was not something I would typically wear, but I thought why not think outside the box and be different. My husband was with me and he asked me if I was sure I wanted it. I assured him I did. I did not take the time to try it on. It was my size so I bought it. Well, when

I got it home it looked great on the hanger. I tried it on and I just wasn’t happy with the fit.
I have bought shoes that felt great in the store and looked cute, I have brought them home and tried to wear them and they hurt my feet and so they go back in the closet.

Now I know some of you are sitting there smiling or laughing because you know exactly what I am talking about. You are probably thinking of that certain item in your mind; you may be even seeing it in your mind.

So why do we do this? One because TV encourages us to buy the newest and next big thing and another reason is we want to look great. We don’t want to settle for looking good or looking average we want to look great. The car commercials tell us if we have this car or that car we can go faster, look more successful as we drive it, and people will envy us.
What does the Bible say about all of this? Matthew 6:33 says this, “Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.” New Living Translation Instead of always striving for more and more we are to seek God above all else. We are to live righteously and if we do He will provide us with everything we need; not always things we want. Do we really want another car payment? Do we really want a bigger house and the payment to go along with it? Will that new blouse or those new shoes really make us any happier when we wear them those few hours? I often ask now what can I do with this money that would help others instead of spending it on me all the time? It’s not all about me; it’s about helping others and seeking to do those things God wants us to do. We can’t do things if we are tied to a bunch of bills and are living from week to week.


“Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them. For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever.” (1 John 2:15-17) We are not to love those things that are in the world and pull us away from loving God. We have to beware of the lust of the flesh. So what does lust mean? I love the terms used in my Thesaurus. The terms used are hanker after, hunger for, ache for and desire. Anything that we hanker after is not always good for us. You know how aches and pains make you feel; if we are feeling that way toward something that is not necessary a good thing. If we desire something more than what God is willing to give us then you can bet we are headed down the wrong path. I realized a long time ago the things we accumulate are either going to wear out, run down, or be given away at our death. Those things we cherish may not mean as much to someone else so they will be sold or given away. Not a pleasant thought is it?

So instead of accumulating things; like so many T-shirts you can’t wear them all in a month, or shoes that often sit in the closet until you wear that one dress or outfit that goes perfectly with them, or one more tool that you need to do a job just once or instead of accumulating that next big electronic item let’s stop and think about what God would want us to do. Let’s stop and think about how we could help others with the money we are going to spend on something that we may not “really” need.
Another idea is if you have an abundance of things and God is working on you why not share your abundance with someone who is in need or don’t know what it’s like to have more than one set of clothes, or more than one pair of shoes, or don’t have any tools to work on.

Yea, I love to go shopping. Yes, I love buying new T-Shirts in all the latest colors and styles, but do I really need another T-Shirt? What could I really do with that money that would benefit the life of another? I know an organization that needs Bibles. So, what if I took those $4 or $5 dollars or whatever and went to Half Price Books and bought Bibles to share with others instead?
Seek ye first the kingdom of God……maybe I should remind myself of that verse every time I have a hankering for something that I really don’t need. How about you?

Dear Lord; I know I am guilty of buying things I have a hankering for and then often times they just hang in the closet until the right time comes along, or until I can remember it’s time to change purses just because I have a few to choose from. I often don’t think about you while I am shopping for that next big and best thing. I often don’t think about you when I want to fill the lust of my flesh. Teach me to seek the kingdom of God first knowing that if I do that you will provide for me all the things I need. You know what I need more than I do. I know what I want and that is not always what is best for me. Help me to remove my desires of my heart and to add the desires your heart into my life. Thank your Lord for just one more lesson in my life. Amen.

Leave a Reply

