​Rethinking Freedom Immigration

Standard

​We have recently celebrated our Independence Day. I am truly grateful to all the men and women down through the years who have fought for my freedom. But I am also grateful to another group who gave up their lives so I can be free in Christ.

I see these two groups are both important and needed. The first group is the Disciples that I am talking about. After Christ died they could have easily gone back to their old lives living the way they always had but they didn’t. They didn’t because Christ changed them. He freed them from living a life in sin. The Bible says, “And having been freed from sin, you became slaves of righteousness. Romans 6:18. They were no longer slaves to sin. Christ came and freed them from sin. Because they believed in Him, because they walked with Him and because they chose to die to self and live through him they were free from sin.

They also became free to live the lives Christ wanted them to live. They were free to take on Christ’s attributes. They were free to let Christ live through them. Because of their freedom they wanted to share that freedom with others. Instead of letting the message die they fought to keep the message alive so I can know about being freed from sin and being free to live the way Christ’s wants me to live. Since I have experienced this freedom like the Disciples I want to share it with others.

The second group is those men and women who have fought over the years for my freedom. If these men and women hadn’t fought and given up their lives I might not be able to be free to worship God and to read the Bible. I am not sure I know just how lucky I am to have this freedom. Do I really appreciate these men and women or do I take it for granted? Because of their sacrifice I am free to be who God wants me to be and to worship without the fear of punishment or hatred.

Right now we are struggling with sharing our freedom with others. Some are anxious to share our freedom with those who don’t know what it means to be free. Some don’t know what it means to live in a place where there is no fighting or bombs going off. They don’t know what it’s like to be free to worship. All they want is to live in a place where they can be free.

Another group wants to hoard our freedom and to keep others from experiencing freedom. They are afraid of what could happen or what might happen. They are afraid of the unknown. Maybe they are right.

I don’t know what the answer is for this situation. I just know God tells us when we provide for others He blesses. “And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19. All I know is if we serve others as Christ served us our needs will be met and we have nothing to fret.

The other thing to remember is those Disciples did not hoard the Good News. They did not keep it to themselves what Christ did for them. They shared it and it started a whole new way of living. Because they did I think it teaches us to share what we have with others and not to worry about what might happen or could happen. Matthew 6:25 puts it this way, “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?” I believe God is challenging us to step up to the plate and to share our freedom with others, to put our fears and worries in His hands and to pass on what we have been given.

Maybe it’s time we each stop and think about what our Disciples taught us and maybe think about the freedom those men and women fought for. Maybe it’s time for payer and reflection. What do we learn from both groups: the Disciples and those who fought for our freedom? I don’t know the answer. All I know is what I have been taught. I am grateful for the freedom both groups have given me.

Dear Lord, I don’t know what the answer is. I know what the Bible says and I know what I think you’d do if you were here. Help us to step up and do what is right. Thank you for those Disciples who carried on and fought to keep your message alive. Thank you for their willingness to press on when times were tough. Thank you also for those men and women who have fought to keep me free. Thank you for the freedom to read my Bible, pray and worship you without fear. Be with those who are facing challenging times. Be with those who only know days of bombs going off and fighting and don’t really know about peace. Help us to teach them about your peace, your love, your grace and your mercy. Thank you for all you have done for me. Help me to do to others what you have done for me.

Leave a Reply

